Wigtownshire’s 2016 sporting heroes

Friday 25th March'Wigtownshire sports awards 2016'Club winners Stranraer Stingrays (Swimming)
Friday 25th March'Wigtownshire sports awards 2016'Club winners Stranraer Stingrays (Swimming)

This year’s sports personality award winners gathered for the annual presentation organised by Wigtownshire Sports Council.

There were familiar names to Gazette readers like boxer Tyler Jolly and BMX champion Kriss Kyle, but also names for the future like swimmer Spencer Bullivant and badminton player Jennifer Craig.

Junior male Under 14 winner Spencer Bullivant took part in the Scottish Schools championship at Tollcross and came 4th in Scotland for 100 back crawl and 4th in Scotland for 200 front crawl.

In September Spencer broke the record for the 100m back crawl in the under 13 category and now sits 1st in Scotland and 9th in Britain.

Junior male 14 years and over winner Tyler Jolly has continued to develop and strengthen his position in Youth Boxing in Scotland. He is currently ranked No5 in the World of Junior Boxers.

In February 2015 Tyler won his West of Scotland Gold Medal (Western Districts); a Silver Medal in the GB title championships in May where he was also Scotland Team Captain. Tyler has been selected to travel to Russia in March 2016 with Team Scotland. Junior female winner Jennifer Craig won both the Douglas Ewart High School and Wigtownshire Badminton Championships - singles, doubles and mixed doubles. Jennifer also won at the Dumfries & Galloway Championships and went on to the Scottish Schools Championships.

Junior team winners were Douglas Ewart U16 Rugby Team. 2015 was a year of great success for the U16s at the Douglas Ewart High School finishing the 2014/15 season undefeated. They collected the winners medals and trophies for the D&G School 7’s tournament as well as winning the Glasgow Bowl competition.

Senior team were Wigtownshire Bowling Association. In 2015 the team, for the first time, won through to the final of the Hamilton Trophy.

Disabled sportsperson winner is Hugh Nibloe who represented Scotland at the World Wheelchair Curling Championships, playing second position, where they finished 8th. He also skipped the National team at the World Qualifying competition in November. Club winners were Stranraer Stingrays in their 20th anniversary. There are more children swimming nationally than ever and the Club is gaining a national reputation.

Senior male winner is Kriss Kyle who has a very busy career and travels all over the world to BMX events.

He was very happy to come home in October 2015 to open Glenluce Skate Park and donated lots of prizes for the event.

This year Kriss has already filmed stunts in Gran Canaria, opened the Source Skate Park in Hastins, appeared in the River Side show in Glasgow and is flying to San Diego in February to film more amazing videos for BSD. Senior female winner is Ellis Hayes who had her most successful year winning every championship that she entered including European, United Kingdom, British, Central Scotland, North Scotland and Commonwealth.

r See more online

SportScotland / SALSC: Local Service to Sport Award - Bobby Cloy

Bobby has been 51 years in boxing and a boxing coach for as long as anyone can remember. Bobby was born on Claunch Farm, Sorbie and has lived there all his life. Now 80 his commitment to boxing and working as a dairyman often meant that he travelled to boxing shows all over Scotland returning home in the early hours just in time to start the early milking.

Bobby always has a story to tell the young boxers about the good old days when he boxed out of Sorbie Boxing Club - or was a bouncer and steward at the local dances .. Bobby has always been and still is a man who can remember who boxed whom and which boxer won in which village hall all over Scotland as well as the names of the current and old coaches - a rare talent.

After being a boxer himself Bobby started training others in 1965. The first venue was Robin Kinnear’s Garage in Monreith, followed by Sorbie Village Hall in 1967, then Sorbie Church from 1969 - 1978 before moving on to the school gym in Whithorn School until 1992. Bobby and Martin McGuire ran the Whithorn Boxing Club up till 1992.

Bobby suffered a heart attack which curtailed his active training career but did not stop him from giving advice to up and coming boxers. Bobby travelled with them to shows all over the country and still does with Bravehearts Boxing Club. Notable boxers during Bobby’s training career include: John Hutchison - ABA Scottish Champion for 3 years running; Andrew Wallace - Scottish School Boy Champion, North of England Champion, lost on points for British School Boys Championship. He produced West of Scotland, Scottish and British champions. Some of the other boxers he trained included Kenny Kinnear, Jim Archer, Andrew Wallace, Barry Keenan and Pandy Brawls, to name a few. Tom Jolly and Willie Martin, now trainers with Whithorn Bravehearts, also fought for Scotland. Bobby has been a mentor to both Willie and Tom in helping and guiding them with the Bravehearts.

One of Bobby’s best memories is of a Boxing Show in Largs where his boxers won 4 Golds and 2 Silvers. Bobby has met and made many good friends and boxers in his time.

Bobby always taught the Queensberry rules of boxing but the greatest guidance he gave to his boxers was teaching them respect, to themselves and others and that climbing through the ropes and into the boxing ring was something that in Bobby’s eyes made you a champion.

As one of his pupils told me - Bobby’s catch phrase was always: “Keep yer hands up and yer chin doon”!

Full list of winners

Junior Male - Under 14:- 1st Spencer Bullivant (swimming); 2nd Ashton McKeand (football).

Junior Male (14 - 16):- 1st Tyler Jolly (boxing); 2nd Robbie Smith (rugby); 3rd Lewis MacLeod (swimming); 4th Kian Carnochan (boxing).

Junior Female:- 1st Jennifer Craig (badminton); 2nd Amy Wallace (ice skating).

Junior Team:- 1st Douglas Ewart High School U16 Rugby Team; 2nd Galloway Thistle Youth Football Club Under 15 Football Team; 3rd Belmont School Football Team (A); 4th Douglas Ewart U16 Netball Team.

Senior Team:- 1st Wigtownshire Hamilton Trophy Team representing Wigtownshire Bowling Association; 2nd Douglas Ewart U18 Rugby Team.

Disabled:- 1st Hugh Nibloe (curling); 2nd Irene Hainey (curling).

Official:- 1st Arlene McEachran (boxing).

Volunteer:- 1st Corina Erskine and Irene Kennedy (netball); 2nd John McIntyre (curling).

Coach:- 1st Christine McClymont (swimming); 2nd Alex Hanlin (bowling); 3rd Matthew Robinson (Community Sports).

Club:- 1st Stranraer Stingrays Swimming Club; 2nd Millennium Football Club; 3rd Newton Stewart Rugby Football Club; 4th= Newton Stewart Triathlon Club and Stranraer Wheelchair Curling Club.

Senior Male:- 1st Kriss Kyle (BMX).

Senior Female:- 1st Ellis Hayes (Highland Dancing); 2nd Vicki Adams (curling).

Services to Sport:- 1st David McGuire (bowling); 2nd Suzanne Mitchell (swimming); 3rd Maureen Parker (curling).

SALSC Service to Sport:- 1st Bobby Cloy (boxing).

Thank you to John Ross, CBE, Lord-Lieutenant for presenting the prizes and Kenneth Ovens, Director of SALSC for presenting the Service to Sport Award.