Wigtown Show 2013 - Showjumping results

Wigtown Show 1 metre class - 1st Iona Campbell and Murphy ;2nd Rachel Baillie and Connie; 3rd Emma McCornick and Miami Bobby.
Wigtown Show 1 metre class - 1st Iona Campbell and Murphy ;2nd Rachel Baillie and Connie; 3rd Emma McCornick and Miami Bobby.

The weather was kind for Wigtown Show meaning that the 2013 showjumping went ahead as planned run by Machars Riding Club.

The good weather saw a fantastic turnout of competitors and spectators travel from across Dumfries and Galloway. The track for the day was built by BS course builder Gareth Ainge and judge for the day was Susan McKie.

Isla Campbell  and Henry the winners in the Wibbly Wobbly class at Wigtown Show

Isla Campbell and Henry the winners in the Wibbly Wobbly class at Wigtown Show

The action started with the Senior 65cm class. Jemma Scott made her long journey worthwhile taking a well deserved first place with a double clear in a time of 47.90 seconds ahead of Sophie Madgison and Seamus.

Local girl Charlotte McDowall was to win the next class with a fast paced round which saw her taking every available short-cut on Miami Bubblegum to take the red rosette 3 seconds ahead of visitors Sophie Madgison and Seamus in second and Vicky Campbell and Abby third.

Perhaps the most action packed senior class of the day was the 95cm class. Katy Jones came forward from a late draw with Miami Galaxy. From the outset it was clear that the pair were meaning business. Katy asked some serious questions of the little mare but Galaxy answered each and every one perfectly to complete the second phase in the fastest senior time of the day 35.42 seconds, over eight seconds ahead of the nearest competitor.

The final senior class of the day saw the fences sitting at 1m10 in the first phase and eight competitors came forward to tackle what was undoubtedly a testing track with wide oxers. It was a clear cut class with Arlene McNabney and Earl of Eaghan returning the only clear over the two phases to take first place and the G and C Books Trophy.

After a short break to adjust the track the action continued with the Junior Showjumping, always a favourite with the crowd. In the Leadrein section it was a day for the boys with Finn McMiken and Sparky taking first place ahead of Flynn Mann and Roxy Roo in second.

This was swiftly followed by the Wibbly Wobbly class for young competitors just getting to grips with riding off the lead rein. Isla Campbell went first and set the standard with a clear in a time of 34.60 seconds. She had a long wait to see if anyone could better her time but it was not to be as the closest they came was Jade Stewart onboard Errigal Dancer who broke the finish beam in 35 seconds exactly to take second place.

Following on from the victory of younger sister Isla there was no denying the determination of Carla Campbell in the 65cm class. From a fast moving pace Carla asked every question of Brady and on this occasion he got every answer right leaving all fences standing and breaking the finish beam in 32.94 seconds, the fastest junior time of the day ahead of Beth MacDonald with Hugh Paterson’s beautiful homebred mare Miami Georgina.

The fences stood at 85cm for the penultimate Junior class of the day. Twenty-eight combinations were entered and the course builder was again tested to build a track to reduce the clears, and this he did successfully. As often happens when the fences go up in height they start to fall out of the cups and in this section four combinations completed clear across the two phases. Always a fast one Caitlin Jolly and Looney Tunes finished fastest of these ahead of Abby Forsyth riding Miami Moondust and Becky McKinstry and Fern in third.

With the final track sitting at 1m in the first phase the last class would prove to be a test of accuracy rather than speed. Of the starters only two made it to the second phase, Iona Campbell and Rachael Baillie. From an earlier draw Iona and Murphy X finished with four faults to take first place and the Machars Riding Club trophy with Rachael and Connie completing with eight faults to take second. Young Emma McCornick took third with the fastest four faults in the first phase riding Hugh Paterson’s Miami Bobby.