Wigtown end four-year wait for trophy

Haig Gordon Cup winners, Wigtown and Bladnoch FC. SGGY 060513 1
Haig Gordon Cup winners, Wigtown and Bladnoch FC. SGGY 060513 1

On Saturday St Cuthbert Wanderers and Wigtown and Bladnoch locked horns at Meadow Park in the final of the Haig Gordon Cup for what turned out to be a close and very even encounter.

Adam Dougan opened the scoring for the Trammondford side, with striker Craig Rudd levelling before the interval. There were no futher goals in the second half and the contest went into extra time, with Wigtown’s Ross Drysdale clinching the final with a goal three minutes from time which saw him being red-carded after receiving a second yellow for taking off his jersey.

Wigtown, therefore, had to play out the final minutes of the match with 10 men but they held on to lift the silverware and should be congratulated in winning their first trophy for four seasons.

Results from Friday, May 3.

Stewartry rivals Dalbeattie Star and Threave Rovers clashed at Palmerston Park last Friday night in the final of this season’s South League Cup with holders Dalbeattie running out 3-1 winners to take this particular trophy for the third season in succession.

This was Threave’s sixth defeat in a row – a record which is quite unusual for the Castle Douglas club.

Things started badly in this contest for Threave when in the 15th minute a Lewis Sloan cross found the head of Stuart MacPherson to open the scoring.

Eight minutes later Star went further ahead when Sloan was again the provider to find Ritchie Maxwell, who doubled their lead.

Some good goal-keeping from Threave keeper Vinnie Parker kept Star from going further ahead on several occasions. The Meadow Park side kept fighting and were rewarded in the 65th minute when Sean Millgan found the net to give Threave a bit of hope of salvaging something from the match.

It was not to be, though, and with four minutes left to play Scott Milligan ensured victory for Star with their third goal.

South League Cup final

Dalbeattie Star 3 Threave Rovers 1

Results from Saturday, May 4

Haig Gordon Cup final

St Cuthbert Wanderers 1 Wigtown and Bladnoch 1 (Wigtown won 2-1 after extra time)