Stranraer hosts RCCC ladies branch

The RCCC ladies branch commitee at Stranraer for their AGM
The RCCC ladies branch commitee at Stranraer for their AGM

Stranraer Ice Rink and Stranraer Ladies Curling Club played host to the Royal Caledonian Curling Club Ladies’ Branch annual general meeting last week.

The location for the annual event follows the current president to her home town and Stranraer curlers have been proud and honoured to have had Mary Ann McWilliam of Portpatrick Curling Club serve as Ladies Branch President during the season 2014-15, taking the reigns from Fiona Hardie at Dumfries last year.

ladies, and a handful of men, attended to support the meeting and receive reports on the seasons domestic and international competitions as well as hear a very comprehensive report from Mary Anne McWilliam who had spent the year looking after the interests of the Ladies Branch affairs both in Scotland and abroad, traveling as far as Estonia and Japan in support of our ladies teams.

David Henderson, the Royal Caledonian Curling Club President was delighted to be present and gave a very informative report on the activities of the club.

Mary Anne conducted the business of the meeting in her usual efficient manner and was pleased to hand over the reigns of the club to the new President, Marion Fraser, from Kirkcaldy. Gail Munro was re-elected to the position of Honorary Treasurer.

The meeting closed with a vote of thanks given by the local representative, Maureen Parker, whose mother, Betty Grierson, was the last local lady to have held the position of President during the season 1980-81. Following the meeting everyone was invited to partake of a delicious afternoon tea which had been prepared by the members of Stranraer Ladies Curling Club.