Stranraer hosts the inaugural octogenarian national curling championship

Last Thursday at Stranraer Ice Rink sixteen octogenarian curlers took to the ice for the Inaugural Octogenarian Curling National Championships.

Wednesday, 7th December 2016, 10:54 am
Updated Wednesday, 14th December 2016, 1:57 pm
All competitors who took part in the Inaugural Octogenarian Championship on the ice prior to their games.

Seventeen curlers with an accumulated age of 1363 years between them and nearly 900 years of curling took to the ice at Stranraer. Many of the curlers would have started curling on outdoor ice at local ponds during the winter when the ponds would freeze over and latterly indoor ice rinks.

The four rinks who competed had curlers from Kelso, Hamilton and Stranraer.

The Hamilton rink skipped by Ena Smith played Stranraer 1 skipped by J Norman Brown which saw some very impressive curling and a home 6-2 victory.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The other game saw Stranraer 2 skipped by John Wilson win by 10 shots against the Dumfries rink. Stranraer 2 then beat Hamilton 5-2.

Stranraer 1 then came out on top against Dumfries winning 5-2.

After the scores were added up it was J Norman Brown’s rink of Mary Foster, Beth Aitken, Rita Mitchell and Norman Whitfield who lifted the trophy.

In Second place was the other Stranraer rink skipped by John Wilson, Ena Smith’s rink taking 3rd place and the Dumfries rink skipped by Ian Shuttleworth in 4th.

Ice Rink Manager Gail Munro presented the rose bowl to the winning skip J Norman Brown, Mary Foster, Beth Aitken, Rita Mitchell and Norman Whitfield for playing well, everyone for playing in the inaugural championship, Gail and her staff for the ice, North West Castle for lunch, David Higgins for his sponsorship, he wished everyone a safe journey home and hoped to see them all again next year.

Team list:-

Stranraer 1 skipped by J Norman Brown, Stoneykirk Curling Club, Mary Foster, Loch Connel Curling Club, Beth Aitken, Limekiln Loch Curling Club, Rita Mitchell, Castle Kennedy Curling Club, Norman Whitfield East Kilbride Curling Club.

Stranraer 2 skipped by John Wilson Kirkmabreck Curling Club, Hugh Aitken Limekiln Loch Curling Club, David Higgins Stoneykirk Curling Club, Betty Downie Stranraer Ladies Curling Club.

Hamilton skipped by Ena Smith Cadzow Curling Club, Jack Muir Lesmahagow Curling Club, John Veitch

Lesmahagow Curling Club, David Elder, Greenlaw Curling Club.

Dumfries skipped by Ian Shuttleworth New Abbey Curling Club, Tom Ross Holywood Curling Club, Jim McMyn New Abbey Curling Club, Billy Green Dumfries Curling Club.

Galloway Province League

Glasserton CC and Kirkmabreck CC played their league game last Sunday night at Stranraer Ice Rink. At the end of play, Kirkmabreck had taken all four points. Glasserton meet the current champions Wigtown CC this Sunday evening at 7.30pm


J Maxwell, Glasserton 7 I McFadzean, Kirkmabreck 11; F Galloway, Glasserton 7 D Wilson, Kirkmabreck 9.

Kirkmabreck 4 points and 20 shots; Glasserton 0 points and 14 shots.