South Scene with John McNaught

St Cuthbert Wanderers sit proudly at the top of the South of Scotland League after winning their first three matches.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 4th August 2015, 10:12 am
Wigtown & Bladnoch v Upper Annandale.
Robert McColm attacks the ball
Wigtown & Bladnoch v Upper Annandale. Robert McColm attacks the ball

Last Saturday they added three more points to their tally when they defeated Abbey Vale by four goals to nil. Struan Parker and Sam Warren put the Kirkcudbright side ahead before the interval with Jack McMurdo and Andrew Donely adding another two before the end.

Heston Rovers also won their third game of the season when they defeated Newton Stewart by four goals to two at Blairmount Park. The home side went ahead though through Johnny Fisher but Heston bounced back with goals from Russell Jardine and Malcolm Burgess to give the visitors a slender half time lead. Although McGuire scored for Newton after the break goals from Sean Kevan and Grant Learmont saw the Dumfries side take the three points.

Last season’s champions Wigtown and Bladnoch kept up their challenge with a three goals to nil victory over Upper Annandale with the goals all coming in the second half through Robert McColm, Richard Jones and John Kiltie.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

Fleet Star recorded a six goals to two victory over Dumfries YMCA with Luke McIntyre opening the scoring after only three minutes. Dale Millgan added a hat-trick to add two a goal each for Ross Hunter and Martyn Kenny. A Darren Johnstone hat-trick was enough for Crichton to see off the challenge from Lochar Thistle who could only manage two in reply while Edusport Academy recorded the biggest win of the day when they beat Nithsdale Wanderers by eight goals to nil.

Creetown had a narrow victory over Mid-Annandale when they won by three goals to two to take the three points from a tight contest.


South of Scotland League

Abbey Vale 0 St Cuthbert Wanderers 4

Dumfries YMCA 2 Fleet Star 6

Lochar Thistle 2 Crichton 3

Mid-Annandale 2 Creetown 3

Newton Stewart 2 Heston Rovers 4

Upper Annandale 0 Wigtown and Bladnoch 3