South Scene By John McNaught

Sunday 6th September'Ferrytoon/Creetown over 35's select v Dukla Pumpherston'A friendly tussle between Creetown's Alan White & Dukla's Paul McColl
Sunday 6th September'Ferrytoon/Creetown over 35's select v Dukla Pumpherston'A friendly tussle between Creetown's Alan White & Dukla's Paul McColl

The first round ties of the J Haig Gordon Cup competition dominated South football last Saturday with some interesting contests which threw up some surprising results.

Abbey Vale locked horns with Nithsdale Wanderers at Dumfries High School for a match that looked as though it could go either way but the home side found some great form to win by four goals to two. Vale had four different goal scorers with Brodie Turner, Ricky Baxter, Daniel Thom and Chris Mellon making sure that their side were in the draw for round two of this competition.

Crichton recorded a memorable victory over Edusport Academy who are presently leading the South of Scotland League. The home side came out on top by the odd goal in three with Gavin Smith scoring a double.

Following the previous week’s good result, Fleet Star looked like favourites to go through to round two at the expense of their visitors Lochar Thistle. It was not to be however, with Lochar hitting top form to win the contest convincingly by five goals to nil. Lochar’s goals came from five different players with William Dempster, Kieran Krause, Craig Muir, Lee Martin and Steven Green all finding the net without return from the home side.

Heston Rovers played hosts to St Cuthbert Wanderers and as expected pushed the visitors all the way although in the end the fire power that Saints have in their team saw them go through in extra time to progress in this particular competition. Following a goal-less first half at Palmerston Park the home side took the lead on the hour mark through Russell Jardine but ten minutes from time the match was level when Philip Middlemass found the net for Saints to send the match into extra time. A minute before the extra time break Andrew Donely put the visitors ahead and, two minutes from the end of play, Sam Warren ensured his sides progress with a third.

The final two ties were local derby matches with Mid-Annandale playing Upper Annandale and Newton Stewart having Creetown as their visitors to Blairmount. As expected both matches went close with home advantage being the deciding factor with Mids and Newton winning through to round two. The match at Lockerbie looked like it was one that could go all the way with the odds tilting in favour of Mids and that’s exactly how things turned out in the end with the home side going through by the odd goal in three. Sean Dunbar put the Lockerbie side in front after nineteen minutes play with Graham Maxwell scoring an equaliser in the thirty-fifth minute. The winner came from Cammie Thorburn although some excellent goal keeping by Mids keeper Peter Crolla ensured victory for the home side.

The match at Blairmount also went close with the match reaching the half time break all square and goal-less. A second half double from striker Robert Middleton and a single from substitute Scott Whannel was enough to ensure victory for the Creesiders with Rory Marshall scoring what proved to be a consolation goal for the visitors.

There was one South of Scotland League match played at Trammondford Park where Wigtown and Bladnoch entertained Dumfries YMCA. The visitors were expected to be on a high following their good result last time out against Creetown and that was the case with the Dumfries side being narrowly beaten by two goals to one. Richard Jones and Robert Jamieson scored the vital goals to keep up Wigtown’s challenge at the top but the results from YMCA’s last couple of outings suggest that they may well have turned the corner and are now settling well into South football.

Results from Saturday 26th September, 2015

South of Scotland League

Wigtown and Bladnoch 2 Dumfries YMCA 1

J. Haig Gordon Cup – Round One

Abbey Vale 4 Nithsdale Wanderers 2

Crichton 2 Edusport Academy 1

Fleet Star 0 Lochar Thistle 5

Heston Rovers 1 St Cuthbert Wanderers 3

Mid-Annandale 2 Upper Annandale 1

Newton Stewart 3 Creetown 1