‘Shire host elite bowls competition


WIGTOWNSHIRE Sports Council played host to the Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils (SALSC) prestigious Gents’ Bowling competition last Tuesday.

Bowlers from all over Scotland came to enjoy a day of bowling at Stranraer Bowling Club.

The day’s competition started with a fun trial end - each player had two bowls and the bowl closest to the ditch, without landing in it, won a bottle of whisky donated by Raymond Smith, Chairman of Wigtownshire Sports Council. This was won by Peter Greenwood of Castlehill Bowling Club representing Clydesdale Sports Council.

The weather was kind, although overcast, and broke into sunshine for the final. The semi-finals comprised of rinks from Ross-shire, Inverness, Lanarkshire and Wigtownshire. Unfortunately Wigtownshire were knocked out with rinks from Ross and Cromarty and Inverness meeting in the final - a long way to come for a game they could have played closer to home!

Milton and District Bowling Club from Ross and Cromarty came out on top, and skip Hugh Macdougall was delighted to win the SALSC gents crown at the third attempt.

The Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils invites local Sports Councils throughout Scotland to host Scottish championships in bowls, curling and golf and Wigtownshire was awarded the honour of hosting the Gents Bowls competition this year. Twelve rinks came from all over Scotland, with many staying in the local area the evening before.

Wigtownshire Sports Council is grateful to Dumfries and Galloway Council for providing funding for the evening meal and to Stranraer Bowling Club for the use of their facilities and excellent hospitality. Thanks also to the Umpire - William Johnstone and Stranraer Bowling Club’s Greenkeeper. Prizes to the winning rinks were presented by Russell Brown, MP, Councillor Graham Nicol and Ron Sim, Chair of SALSC.

Winners - Milton and District Bowling Club, Ross & Cromarty Sports Council.

Skip - Hugh Macdougall, Sandy Adam, John Fraser and Duncan McLean.

Runners Up - Fraser Park Bowling Club, Inverness Sports Council.

Skip - Frank Hepburn, Eddie Cooper, Rod Sommerfield, Alex McKenzi.