Ross rink wins Mochrum Cup

Galloway Province Mochrum Cup

Wigtown Curling Club retained the Mochrum Cup, sponsored by Alex McCleary Funeral Directors, last Friday at Stranraer Ice Rink.

But for their first time in five years, there is a new name on the trophy after skip Ross Inger with his rink of John Cannon, Euan Davidson and Jodie Milroy beat Steve Groome, John Wilson, Peter Lupton and Andrew McConchie from Kirkmabreck CC 7-1 in the final.

Eight rinks took part and the first games were played on Thursday with the semi-final and final the following day.

In the semi-final there was a nail-biting finish to the game between the winner for the past five years, Wigtown’s Dick Adams and Steve Groome. Tied at four all after eight ends the two skip had to draw the shot to decide the winner. Steve nailed the four foot but Dick was a fraction too heavy. The other semi was a clear cut win for the Inger rink against the Kirkcowan foursome of Graham Adams, Hugh Templeton, Robert Cannon and Euan Macdonald.

In the final, the Wigtown rink took a two but should have had a three after Ross missed an open house with his last stone. They then stole in the next three ends before Steve Groome played a perfect last draw into a nest of Wigtown stones in the house in the fifth end. But the writing was on the wall and after Wigtown took one in the sixth it was handshakes when they stole yet another single in the seventh.

The presentation of the trophy and prizes was conducted by Galloway Province President Andrew McConchie. He congratulated the winner and thanked all the rinks for taking part and the welcome continued sponsorship of Alex McCleary. After he received the trophy, Ross Inger said he was delighted to win his first piece of silverware as a skip. He thanked his rink for playing so well and his opponents in the final, adding that the score did not reflect how close the game actually was.


Steve Groome, Kirkmabreck 10 Andy McClymont, Minnigaff 5; Dick Adams, Wigtown 10 Billy Thomson, Glasserton 4; Drew Paton, Penninghame 2 Graham Adams, Kirkcowan 10; Graeme Penrose, Glasserton 4 Ross Inger, Wigtown 9.

Semi-final - Steve Groome 4 Dick Adams 4 (Groome wins draw shot decider); Graham Adams 7 Ross Inger 15.

Final - Steve Groome 1 Ross Inger 7.

Winning rink - Ross Inger (skip), John Cannon, Euan Davidson, Jodie Milroy - Wigtown CC.

Runners up - Steve Groome (skip), John Wilson, Peter Lupton, Andrew McConchie - Kirkmabreck CC.