Rallying season goes to the wire

Round 5 of the 2016 ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship saw the teams and their machines head to Banchory, Aberdeenshire, for the Coltel Grampian Stages.

Championship leaders Garry Pearson and Robbie Mitchell (Ford Fiesta R5) could’ve taken their maiden SRC title with a win on the Aberdeenshire event, and heading into the final test they were equal on time with John MacCrone and Rhianon Gelsomino (Ford Fiesta R5).

MacCrone blitzed the opposition to take his maiden SRC win, ahead of Pearson who has to wait for that first championship and Jock Armstrong/Paula Swinscoe (Subaru Impreza) who will do everything to hold onto their crown. Armstrong will now have to win the Galloway Hills Rally at Castle Douglas on September 10. Mark McCulloch and Michael Hendry continued their impressive season taking fourth overall.

Continuing where they left off on the Scottish were Gordon Murray (Perth) and David O’Brien (Duns), taking the class 9 victory in their larger engine Ford Escort Mk2.

The pair were unchallenged after Donald and Rachel Brooker retired their BMW 130i, but made an impression finishing level on time with Fraser Wilson and Craig Wallace’s Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX.

Class 10 for Group N specification vehicles was won for a third time this year by Paisley’s Alasdair Graham and Alford’s Laura Stuart with their Evo IX Mitsubishi. They managed to beat Wilson and Wallace who finished second in class.