Mavericks celebrate success

Merrick Mavericks celebrated the club's swimming successes this year at their end of season Club Championships on Sunday. Simpsons The Bakers kindly donated a cake to the swimmers to help celebrate following their inter-club swimming races.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 16th June 2016, 3:22 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 8:26 pm

The 2016 Awards were then presented to the swimmers by chairwoman, Alison Flower, who said: “The Club has had fantastic success this year; finishing second in the Solway League and many of the swimmers medalists at the recent Guid Nychburris Gala. Our Head Coach, Christine McClymont, won Wigtownshire Sports Coach of the Year, which was thoroughly deserved. We look forward to building on our success next year.”

Club championships; Female Swimmer of the Year; Ella Simpson; Male Swimmer of the Year; Jacob Beaddie; Coaches Swimmer of the Year; Barnaby Williams; Committee’s Swimmer of the Year; Ellie McClymont; Most Dedicated A Squad Swimmer; Rachel Campion; Most dedicated B Squad swimmer; Stephen McCormick; Most Dedicated C Squad Member; Rory McMiken; Most Improved Front Crawl Swimmer; Cara Sloan; Most Improved Breast Stroke Swimmer; Stephen McCormick; Most Improved Butterfly; Maria Stachnio; Most Improved Back Crawl Swimmer; Kirsty Cannon; Most Improved Individual Medley; Cara Sloan; Most Improved Swimmer; Harry Flower; Most Improved Newcomer; Emma Jolly; Special Achievement Award; Grace Hyslop