Logan on top of the world

Logan curlers with the Coulson and Scott-Grierson Trophies
Logan curlers with the Coulson and Scott-Grierson Trophies

LOGAN Curling Club finished off the most successful season in the club’s history by pinching the Scott-Grierson league challenge from under the noses of the players from Wigtown Curling Club on Wednesday night at Stranraer Ice Rink.

The Scott-Grierson Trophy is played for annually between three rinks from the winners of the Rhins O’ Gallowa’ Province League and the winners of the Galloway Province League.

The three Logan rinks, representing the Rhins, skipped by Ian Macpherson, Donald McColm and Robert Lammie all went into the last end either behind of level with their Galloway Province opposition.

But in a dramatic last few minutes Donald McColm took a three off Jim Cannon to win and Robert Lammie played a cracker of an angled take out to lie four shots. This shot really put the pressure on Dick Adams, the Wigtown skip, who had to draw the eight foot to secure the win. All eyes were on Dick as he played his last stone.

His weight looked good and, on ice that is normally very straight, the stone ran laser-like towards the house until it gently began to draw. Frantic sweeping was in vain and when Dick’s stone caught a guard the Logan players could not believe they had just won. The Wigtown players looked as if they had just had their pockets picked.

At the presentations afterwards, Galloway Province President Andrew McConchie said he was as gobsmacked as anyone about the sensational turnaround before heartily congratulating the Logan club.

He commented that this was the first Scott-Grierson played since the death of one of the founders of the competition, Bob Grierson, a man who contributed much to local curling. Andrew said he was sure he would be looking down from his new position on high at the curling rink.

He then called upon Rhins vice president Norman Brown to hand over the Auchendoon Trophy to Wigtown CC president Dick Adams and the Coulson Trophy and the Scott-Greirson Trophy to Logan President Hugh Kirkpatrick Jnr.

Norman gave a general vote of thanks and Donald McColm gave a short speech on behalf of the jubilant Logan players and Dick Adams replied on behalf of the vanquished Wigtown contingent.

One result was still outstanding from the Galloway Province league. Kirkmabreck and Minnigaff played their postponed game on Monday. Kirkmabreck could only raise one rink therefore forfeited two points and six shots.

The game played resulted in a 8 -4 win for John Wilson, Kirkmabreck over Andy McClymont, Minnigaff. This means Minnigaff are the runners up on 10 points and Kirkmabreck are third on eight points.


Stuart Cannon, Wigtown 6 Ian Macpherson, Logan 3; Jim Cannon, Wigtown 4 Donald McColm, Logan 8; Dick Adams, Wigtown 7 Robert Lammie, Logan 8.

Wigtown 2 points and 17 shots - Logan 4 points and 19 shots.