Kirkmabreck win Biggar Cup

kirkmabreck won the Biggar Cup, sponsored by Penkiln Builders Merchants, last Wednesday at Stranraer Ice Rink after both teams from the curling club had big wins.

Kirkmabreck ended the day-long competition with a combined total of plus 19 shots but the trophy went to John Wilson’s rink of Steve Groome, Alison Cloy and Andrew McConchie who were 13 shots up, the highest-up rink in the winning club.The runners-up for the second year running were Wigtown Curling Club. Their three rinks finished on plus 14 shots.

The Biggar Cup is the annual competition between rinks from the Galloway Province and the trophy was originally presented by Thomas Biggar, a grain merchant from Castle Douglas in 1926. At the prizegiving, the President of The Galloway Province Andrew McConchie congratulated the winners, including himself, and asked RT Cannon, the Honorary President of the Province to present the trophy to Peter Lupton, the President of the Kirkmabreck Club, pictured left. Robert then presented the winning rink with their prizes, a selection of crystal glasses.

Peter Lupton thanked Colin Dewar for his continued sponsorship of the competition saying what an honour it was for the Kirkmabreck Club to win the Biggar Cup.