Keith and Ian win Dalziel Trophy

Kirkcudbright Golf Club Dalziel Trophy winners
Kirkcudbright Golf Club Dalziel Trophy winners


The sun shone and Kirkcudbright Golf Club experienced one of the largest turnouts of golfers to contest the Dalziel Trophy, a 4BBB medal competition.

The trophy is supported and sponsored by Andy Dalziel. In his speech Andy complimented the green staff on the “best condition he has ever seen the golf course”. His wife presented the prizes with club captain Bill Roff.

Bill commented on the continuing support of volunteers who make such large competitions possible, in particular the sterling work by match secretary Michael Mcfadyen. Michael said he hoped friends would keep in touch via Sandy Green on Facebook.

The winners were Keith Munn and Ian Learmonth 67 (bih). Runners-up were Stuart King and Billy Campbell 67 (bih). Third were Bob Malcolm and Dave Davies 67. (Bob and Dave also won the Queen Mother Salver, a competition for those who have an accumulated age of 110). Fourth were Paul Coleman and David Meek 68 (bih), and fifth were David and Eric Guthrie 69 (bih). Scratch winners were Malcolm Kirkwood and John Boynton.

St Medan

The Ladies Airlour Salver was held at St Medan Golf Club on Saturday, September 14. The results were: 1. M Morton + L McMiken (StM) 40pts, 2. C Cannon + S Bell (W&B) 36 (bih), 3. B Niven + J Edmunds (S) 36 pts.

Newton Stewart

The following is the draw for the 4BBB to be held at Newton Stewart Golf Club on Saturday, September 21.

9.50. S Huntly & S Tipton (County) & S McGinn & A Collings (Wig)

10.00 A Blows & M McKenzie (NS) & F McCall & B Moore (County)

10.10 P McKinstry & V Neil (County) & C Strain & C Cannon (Wig)

10.20 P Cawthra & J Maitland (NS)

11.00 J Hughes & E Willson (NS) & J Hanney & S McHattie (NG)

11.10 L Jack & F McGregor (Th) & M McClymont & A McQueen(NG)

11.20 L Kane & G Rowlinson (KBT) & R Kirk & A Robson(DG)

11.30 J Johnstone & A Houston (D) & H Fox (NS) & L Allan (WIG)

11.40 S Galligan & A Kerr (DG) & N Simpson & E Thomson (Wig)

11.50 A Cloy & I McLelland (NS) & L Dodds & S Downs (KBT)

12.40 C Dalziel & C Cheap (Grangemouth) & A Cunningham & J Bridgeman (Grang)

12.50 M Campbell & M McLean (NS) & E Hunter & E Cairns (Wig)

1.00 S Bell (Wig) & C Brown (County) & M Cluckie & L Shingleston (Wig)

1.10 P Magill & R Weir (NS) & S Townsley & F Allison (DG)

1.20 B Niven & J Johnstone (Stran) & L Walker (LM) & W Clarke (Cri)