Galloway Province Ladies Curling Club

editorial image

The Galloway Ladies Curling Club held it’s 41st annual general meeting and dinner in the North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer recently.

The club president, Lindsay Galloway, welcomed the company then said grace, after which the members enjoyed a delicious meal.

Following the meal the business of the agm was attended to. President Lindsay gave her report of the past season, the notable event was of course the club achieving its 40th anniversary. Lindsay congratulated those members who had played successfully in competitions outwith the club and then proceeded to present the trophies and prizes to the winners of the club competitions as follows:

Hutchison Trophy - Helen Vance (skip), Lillian Brunton, Alison Graham, Anne Robertson.

McKinnel Trophy - Helen Smith (skip), Elizabeth Ferguson, Maureen Morton, Mary McKIe.

Mary Irvine Cup (pairs) - Helen Vance and Alison Graham.

Scott Salver - Elizabeth Ferguson (skip), Patricia Boult, Anne Robertson, Elizabeth Vance.

Rose Bowl - Gillian Campbell (skip), Helen Smith, Liz Forsyth, Debbie Johnstone.

Margaret Ramsay Trophy - Louise Kerr (skip), Elizabeth Ferguson, Marjorie Vance, Alison Graham.

President Lindsay then spoke of the club’s loss of their honorary presidents, Helen Nicholson and Mona Hutchison, who had both been enthusiastic members of the club for many years and would be sadly missed. Lindsay took the opportunity to thank Vivian Murray for all her dedicated work as secretary of the club for the past ten years and who was now retiring from the post. Lindsay then proposed that Anne Robertson be the club’s new president and presented her with the president’s badge which she duly accepted and she then thanked Lindsay for carrying out her duties as president over the past two years so well.

Anne, as new president, then proceeded with the remaining items of business which included the election of office bearers for 2011/2012:

Honorary President - Helen Paton

Vice President - Alison Graham

Secretary/Treasurer - Linda Galloway

Syllabus secretary - Patricia Boult

Committee - Helen Vance, Maud Walker, Helen Laraway, Angie Bythell and Isobel Campbell.

Linda Galloway read a poem entitled “A Verse for Vivian” after which, on behalf of all the club’s members, she presented Vivian Murray with a crystal vase and crystal voltive suitably inscribed to mark her ten years as secretary of Galloway Ladies.

Vice president, Alison Graham, brought the 41st agm to a close by proposing a comprehensive vote of thanks and wished the company an enjoyable summer before returning to the ice at the start of the new season in September.