Galloway Ladies Prizegiving

Galloway lady curles with their prizes last week.
Galloway lady curles with their prizes last week.

Galloway Ladies Curling Club held their dinner, prizegiving and annual general meeting in the North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer last week.

The president Alison Graham welcomed the members after which a delicious meal was served to the company.

The business of the agm was then attended to after which president Alison presented the club trophies to the following successful players:

Hutchison Trophy (evening league before Christmas) - Helen Vance (skip), Helen Laraway, Barbara Woods (subs- Louise Kerr, Caroline Jess, Wendy Vance, Isabelle Howatson, Carolyn McIlwraith).

McKinnel Trophy (day league before Christmas) - Margaret Ramsay (skip), Gillian Campbell, Maud Walker, Lillian McMieken (subs - Angie Bythell, Isabelle McLelland).

Mary Irving Cup (Pairs competition) - Helen Vance and Alison Graham.

Scott Salver (evening league after Christmas) - Helen Vance (skip), Lynsday Galloway, Alison Graham, Angie Bythell (subs - Louise Jamieson, Wendy Vance).

Rose Bowl (day league after Christmas) - Elsie Forsyth (skip), Muriel Duncan, Maud Walker, Marjorie Vance (sub - Alison Graham).

The president’s report of her year in office recounted achievements of club members in competitions outwith the club, friendly games played against Girvan Ladies and Threave Ladies. The weather had affected the playing of the friendly game against Stranraer and also the playing of the Margaret Ramsay Trophy, the final bonspiel of the season, Both had to be cancelled due to the snow.

The election of office-bearers followed. Alison invited Helen Laraway to receive the president’s badge for the coming season, which she accepted.

Helen continued with the election of office bearers for the coming season:

Honorary President - Jane Paton

President - Helen Laraway

Vice-president - Isobel Campbell

Secretary / treasurer - Linda Galloway

Syllabus secretary - Trish Boult

Committee - Alison Graham, Angie Bythell, Pam Woods, Marjorie Vance, Christine Storm.

Bringing the meeting to a close, president Helen asked vice president Isobel to propose a vote of thanks. Grateful thanks was extended to the McClymont family from Holmpark, Minnigaff for their continuing sponsorship of the Scott Trophy. Thanks also to the member who very kindly donated a replacement for the Scott Salver. Isobel also thanked those who had held office during the past season and the members for their attendance. She concluded by wishing everyone a good summer and hoped everyone would be fit and well for curling in the autumn.