Galloway Ladies get their prizes

Galloway Ladies prizewinners for 2013/14
Galloway Ladies prizewinners for 2013/14
Share this article

Galloway Province Ladies Curling Club held its 44th annual general meeting and dinner in the North West Castle Hotel recently.

President Helen Laraway welcomed the members and after the meal members enjoyed a curling quiz provided by Moira Graham.

The presentation of trophies and prizes followed:

Hutchison Trophy (Before Christmas Evening League)

Skip: Elizabeth Ferguson, Linda Galloway, Angie Bythell (subs: Wendy Scott & Ann Ballantyne)

McKinnel Trophy (Before Christmas Day League)

Skip: Elsie Forsyth, Joyce Maitland, Isobel Campbell (sub: Alison Graham)

Mary Irvine Cup (Pairs Competition)

Margaret Ramsay & Moira Graham

Salver (After Christmas Evening League)

Skip: Helen Vance, Linda Galloway, Anne Robertson, Margaret McClymont

Rose Bowl (After Christmas Day League)

Skip: Gillian Campbell, Marjorie Vance, Liz Forsyth, Margaret McClymont

President Helen then gave her report of the past year, listing all those members who had taken part successfully in curling events near and far. She mentioned the success of local curler Vicki Adams at the Winter Olympics. On behalf of the club she wished Christine Cannon well in the Senior World Championships, to be played at Dumfries.

Helen then proposed that Isobel Campbell should be elected President of the Club for 2014-2015. Isobel accepted and was presented with her badge of office, she then took over the meeting. Office Bearers for the coming season were appointed as follows:

Hon. President: Jane Paton

President: Isobel Campbell

Vice-president: Angie Bythell

Secretary/Treasurer: Linda Galloway

Syllabus Secretary: Patricia Boult

Committee Members:Helen Laraway, Christine Storm, Marjorie Vance, Pam Woods, Barbara Woods, Isabelle Howatson.

Angie Bythell brought the meeting to a close by proposing a vote of thanks. She thanked in particular Jane Paton for her generous contribution towards the provision of new club badges and also grateful thanks to the McClymont family for their many years providing sponsorship for the Scott Trophy.