First horse driving event of the season at Bladnoch

The South West of Scotland Horse Driving Club held their first driving event of the season at Bladnoch Park by kind permission of Wigtownshire Agricultural Society. Hugh and Pat Gillan, George and Lyndsey Paterson, Carrs Billington Annan, Tarff Valley, Murray Farmcare, Billy’s Tools Dumfries, Denis O’Brown Insurance Brokers, Lawsons, Stickety Lickety Teahouse, Iain and Diana McKendrick, Steve and Sue Munro and the Co-op kindly sponsored the event.

Wednesday, 13th May 2015, 10:06 am

Although it was wet for dressage and cones, this did not dampen enthusiasm as there were some very good performances. The weather was greatly improved by the time the marathon began on the Sunday and again drivers demonstrated promises of even better things to come as the season progresses. The judge for the weekend was David Ivison.

Zan Kirk from Auldgirth driving Copper drove the best dressage of the weekend and had a double clear round in the cones to take an early lead. She increased this lead by also driving the best marathon of the weekend to win a very strong open class. Carl Bevan from Shap was second and Anna Grace was third.

In the novice class, George Hunter from Moffat drove steadily throughout all three phases to win the class closely followed by Fiona Haley in second and Kirsteen McBride in third. Kirsteen had the best cones of the weekend. The multiples class was won by Iain McKendrick driving his Unicorn with Megan Dickenson Hood in second with her pair. The beginners/junior class was won by Abbie Haley and Sue Munro taking second. The field class attracted six entries that could opt to choose what phases they wanted to try with points being awarded for the placings in each phase. Lyndsey Paterson and Janet Glendinning were the only entries who done all three phases with Lyndsey gaining the most points to win the class just ahead of Janet in second. Carol Black and Ellen Dodd finished third equal.

On the Saturday morning there was a junior challenge with eight budding young drivers having a shot at the cones course which also included an obstacle. Iain McKendrick kindly provided the use of three of his Shetlands for the juniors to use.


1, Jessica; 2, Gabriella; 3, Mhairi

The overall champion was Zan Kirk.

Open - 1, Zan Kirk; 2, Carl Bevan; 3, Anna Grace

Novice - 1, George Hunter; 2, Fiona Haley; 3, Kirsteen McBride

Multiples- 1, Iain McKendrick; 2, Megan Dickenson Hood

Beginners/juniors - 1, Abbie Haley; 2, Sue Munro

Field class - 1, Lyndsay paterson; 2, Janey Glenfinning; 3, Carol Black / Ellen Dodd

Winner of the Dressage Trophy - Zan Kirk

Winner of the Marathon Trophy - Zan Kirk

Winner of the Cones Trophy - Kirsteen McBride

Overall Champion Trophy - Zan Kirk

Highest Placed Wigtownshire Member - Pat Gillan

Novice Trophy - George Hunter

Lowest Dressage Wigtownshire Member – Pat Gillan