Draw for Ladies Championship

Draw for the Wigtownshire Ladies Championships to be held on Saturday, May 31, at Wigtown & Bladnoch Golf Club;

9.15/1.30 - C Meldrum (Str) & K McWilliam (C)

9.30/1.45 - K Wright (Str) & C Strain (WB)

9.45/2.00 - J Edmunds (Str) & M Cowan (StM)

10.00/2.15 - B Niven (Str) & S Bell (WB)

10.15/2.30 - J Cameron (Str) & S Milven (WB)

10.30 - D Robinson (StM) & H Bark (WB)

10.45 - N Lammie (Str) & C Brown (C)

11.00 - M Cluckie (WB) & L McMeiken (StM)

11.15 - M Morton (StM) & S Tipton (C)

11.30 - I McLelland (NS) & J Kirkland (C)

11.45 - J Maitland (NS) & L Cairns (WB)

12.00 - A Joyce (C) & E Hunter (WB)

12.15 - H Hamilton (C) & S McGinn (WB)

12.30 - S Drysdale (WB) & C Cannon (WB)

12.45 - S Huntley (C) & A Collings (WB)

13.00 - G Crebbin (D) & L Allan (WB)

13.15 - D Gunby (WB) & N Simpson (WB); No late entries.

Draw for the Wigtownshire Men’s Golf Championship to be held at Newton Stewart Golf Club on Sunday, June 1:

07:30 - J Brodie (NS), S Whannel (NS)

07:38 - C Bennewith (NS), G Cannon (W&B), G Hoodless (NS)

07:54 - D Irving (NS), D McClymont (NS), R Smith (W&B)

08:02 - A White (NS), C Hamilton (S), K Sproat (S)

08:26 - D McCreadie (NS), R Brunton (D), J Telfer (W&B)

08:34 - F Hughes (NS), J Whiteside (NS), S McCulloch (S)

08:42 - I McClymont (NS), P McClelland (NS)

08:50 - K McClung (WC), R Hughan (NS), F Greenhorn (S)

08:58 - D Brodie (W&B), S Fisher (D), T Monteith (NS)

St Medan Golf Club

On Saturday, May 10, St Medan Golf Club held the Airlour Quaich Texas Scramble kindly sponsored by Airlour Farm Danhybrids.

The competition was well supported and the winners were as follows:

1, J Barrowman, J Caldwell, M Cowie & D Agnew (County) 53-4.0=49; 2, I Johnstone, W Milby, C Milby, J Patterson (County) 52-1.9=50.1; 3, C McDonald, J McQuillan, K Nicholson, S Dampney (Stranraer) 56-4.4=51.6.

Kirkcudbright Golf Club

Ladies section


Silver / Bronze May Medal, played May 27:

Overall winner - Caroline Dodds 93(21)72

Silver - 1, Elizabeth Dodds 88(15)73; 2, Joyce Eccles 94(18)76; 3, Pamela Watson 85(8)77

Bronze - 1, Caroline Greig 94(21)73; 2, Barbara Lindsley 101(25)76; 3, Gillian Rowlinson103(26)77

Syd Pascoe Seniors Open

The Syd Pascoe Seniors Open was played at Kirkcudbright Golf Course on Friday, May 16.

A large field of 99 entries enjoyed a great day of golf which was played under perfect conditions. Numerous comments were made by the visitors on the excellent state of the golf course. The prize for the Overall Winner was presented by Mrs Dee Pascoe to David Porteous of Kirkcudbright Golf Club.

David thanked Dee and said how delighted and surprised he was to win the trophy.

The results were as follows: Overall Winner David Porteous (KBT) 42 pts : Category A winner W Lockhead (KBT),second C Maclaine (KBT) 40pts,third B Haining (KBT) 39pts and fourth T Learmonth (KBT) 39pts. Category B winner M Drummond (NS) 40pts, second T Dagg (KBT) 39pts,third B McCartney (KBT) 39pts and fourth F Christie (KBT) 37pts.

Wigtownshire Golf


League results:

Dunskey 3 Newton Stewart 1; St Medans 3 County 1; Wigtown 3.5 Stranraer 0.5