The Opening Junior Bonspiel of the Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club sponsored by J Norman Brown and played for the Norman Brown Junior Curlers Cup, was contested on the Curling Ice Rink at the North West Castle Hotel in Stranraer on the morning and afternoon of Saturday, October 15.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 18th October 2011, 11:36 am

Thirty two juniors in eight teams took part. The team skips were Jodie Milroy, Katie Jamieson, Kara Compton, Lauren Morgan, Jenni Cannon, Gregor Cannon, Euan Kyle and Kieran Stevenson. Each team played three games against different opponents each time and the winner was decided on points for winning and these being equal then ends would count, with perhaps shots up and total shots scored coming into the equation if needed.

In the event by the end of the second game only two teams, those of Jodie Milroy and Kara Compton had succeeded in winning both their games. Gregor Cannon’s rink had one win and a peel (tie) to hold third position. The teams of the two girls played off to decide the competition. In a very close game the score was two shots each by the final end; in this Kara held the only advantage by virtue of having the hammer (last stone). This proved decisive as Kara and her team took the advantage to close out the match and competition in a very close final end.

The presentation was conducted by Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club Vice President, Hugh Parker, who congratulated the junior curlers on their excellent play throughout the contest. Norman Brown then spoke to acknowledge the exceptional skills and enthusiasm of all the youngsters displayed during the day and particularly praised the close contest between Jodie Miroy’s and Kara Compton’s rinks to decide the overall winner. Norman then presented the Cup to Kara Compton and her winning team along with prizes to the winners and the running up rink of Gregor Cannon. Finally, winning skip, Kara Compton, spoke on behalf of her team who she thanked for playing so well in all the games and to thank the Ice Rink management for organising the event.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

Winners: Kara Compton (skip); William McQuillan (third); Craig McStay (second); Lauren Smith (lead).

Runners up: Gregor Cannon (skip); Cameron Stevenson (third); Peter Cochran (second); Kyle Wilson (lead).

Malcolm Henry

The Malcolm Henry Competition was played on Wednesday 12th. October 2011 on the Curling Rink at the North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer.

A total of fourteen rinks competed with six playing the morning session and eight in the evening. This is a one game competition of mixed rinks (two males and two females) per team with players playing alternately. The winner is decided on the highest up number of shots scored to beat an opponent.

In the mornig session both the rinks of J Norman Brown and Trevor Harrison recorded wins by margins of ten shots. Norman winning eleven shots to one and Trevor by twelve shots to two. To beat these margins were the target of the evening rinks. The evening games, however, were all evenly matched and no-one could get a lead of more than a couple of shots. To break the tie of the morning winners to decide the contest, the winner was decided on the number of ends won by each of the two top similarly scoring teams. In this case the Harrison rink had recorded six ends in their win while the Brown team had scored seven, thus, consequently, the Brown rink were acclaimed winners.

Presenting the competition finale, Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club President, Hew Chalmers, congratulated the winning rink of Norman Brown and remarked how gratifying it was to note how many Juniors Curlers were playing in the competition (almost 50% of players were young Curlers). Malcolm Henry then presented the eponymous trophy to Norman Brown and his winning rink along with prizes of miniature engraved curling stones.

Winning rink: J Norman Brown (skip); Lauren Morgan (third); Blair Haswell (second); Rita Mitchell (lead).

CURRENT Scottish and Junior World Champion curler, Vicki Adams from the Lochans, Stranraer, has been playing on the lucrative Canadian cashspiel circuit with her teammates Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan and Claire Hamilton. The foursome played two tournaments back to back and last weekend romped through seven games to win the Meyers Norris Penny Charity Classic in Medicine Hat, Alberta.