STRANRAER curler Abi Brown returned from the World Junior Curling Championships in Sweden this week with a well deserved gold medal - 32 years after her father Norman achieved the same feat.

Monday, 12th March 2012, 12:45 pm

Abi was playing lead stone for the Scottish rink skipped by Hannah Fleming from Lockerbie. The Scottish girls won a thrilling final 6-5 beating the Czech Republic after an extra end.

Fellow Stranraer bred curler Hamilton McMillan was the alternate for the Scotland boys team that won a bronze medal at the championships in Ostersund.

Abi’s dad won gold in 1980 when playing third stones in the all Stranraer rink of Andrew McQuistin, Hugh Aitken and Dick Adams. Hamilton McMillan’s father Hammy also won a bronze medal at the World Juniors in 1985.

Scott Grierson

CASTLE Kennedy Curling Club whitewashed their opponents Wigtown Curling Club when winning the Scott Grierson Trophy at Stranraer Ice Rink last week, gaining revenge for last year’s defeat by the same opponents.

This annual three-game challenge between the winners of the Galloway Province league and the Rhins O’ Gallowa’ Province league is always a very competitive encounter and this was also the third consecutive time that the two clubs had met to play for the trophy.

The games were all very closely contested and with two of them going down to the last end. John Cannon, Wigtown against Gail Munro, Castle Kennedy on sheet two saw Gail score singles in the first two ends but John hit right back with a three at the third. But two’s in the forth and sixth ends saw the Castle Kennedy side pull away for the win. On rink three Dick Adams, Wigtown, battled it out with Philip Wilson, Castle Kennedy. Three down going into the seventh end, Adams made a classy hack-weight tap back to score three and tie the scores but the Wilson rink played solidly in the last two ends to score the win.

On sheet four Jim Cannon, Wigtown and Hammy McMillan, Castle Kennedy, were peeled at 3-3, but a big four for the Castle Kennedy rink gave them the advantage for an end or two. But Wigtown came back taking the tussle into the last end when they gave up a two.

At the presentation of prizes, Galloway Province President Andrew McConchie called upon his opposite number, Rhins President Ian McIntyre, to present the Scott Grierson trophy the Castle Kennedy President John Parker and also the Coulson Trophy for winning the Rhins League.

Ian then presented Wigtown President Dick Adams with the Auchendoon Trophy for winning the Galloway Province league.

Ian McIntyre then gave the vote of thanks to the players for the excellent contest and to the two secretaries, Janette Sloan and Louise Kerr, for organising the league throughout the season.


John Cannon 4 Gail Munro 7; Dick Adams 6 Philip Wilson 10; Jim Cannon 7 Hammy McMillan 9.

Wigtown 0 points and 17 shots for; Castle Kennedy 6 points and 26 shots for.

Henry Trophy

The final of the Henry Trophy, once again sponsored by Border Cars, was played on the evening of Friday March 2 2012 on the North West Castle Hotel’s Ice Rink in Stranraer. This ever popular competition saw a full entry of sixty four curlers drawn into sixteen teams. The teams played a league of four sections of four rinks each with the top scoring team in each section winning a place in the semi final knock out stage. The four semi finalists were the teams of Ian Kirkpatrick, Robert Lammie, Jim Cannon and Peter Lupton.

Both semi finals were close games with Robert Lammie’s team overcoming Ian Kirkpatrick’s rink with the last stone of the game. In the other semi, Peter Lupton put up a good fight against a strong Cannon team only allowing the Cannon rink to get away in the last couple of ends. In the final Jim Cannon was unable to play on the night and brought in Philip Wilson to substitute fro him. The Lammie rink got off to a good start taking one at the first end with the last stone getting in to counter against a potentially disastrous loss of four shots. The next three ends, however, all went to the Wilson skipped Cannon rink by two shots each. At six shots to one down the contest seemed practically over, but the fifth end saw the Lammie rink come back with three shots. The Wilson team was not to be denied despite the Lammie fight back and took three shots at the sixth to remain five shots up. A steal of two more shots at the seventh end saw the Lammie team eventually conceding the match to the Wilson lead team at eleven shots to four.

At the presentation, Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club President, Hew Chalmers, congratulated the winning Wilson rink and commiserated with the Robert Lammie team. Hew thanked sponsors Border Cars for their continued valuable sponsorship and introduced Border Cars representative, Tommy Downie. Tommy proceeded to hand out prizes of crystal glassware and wine (lucozade for the juniors in the rink) to the winners and mugs to the runners up. For the winning team, Malcolm Henry then spoke thanking Tommy Downie and Border Cars for their much appreciated sponsorship and praised his rink for their excellent play throughout the tournament. Malcolm was pleased to see so many young curlers taking part in the competition and ensuring the ever successful future of it and the sport itself.

Final Teams:

Winners: Philip Wilson (skip); Malcolm Henry (third); Frazer Shaw (second); Sophie Hannah (lead).

Runners up: Robert Lammie (skip); Jak Kane (third); Lauren Smith (second); Blair Haswell (lead).

Scottish School Championships

TWO schools rinks, one from the Douglas Ewart High School and one from Stranraer Academy will be playing this weekend in the Scottish Schools Curling Championships at Murrayfield Ice Rink in Edinburgh.

Representing the Douglas Ewart will be Gregor Cannon, Jodie Milroy, Jenni Cannon and Rachel Mills. The Stranraer Academy team is Scott Wilson, Bobbie Lammie, Neil Topping and Ewan Kyle.

Marie Curie Curling Day

The magnificent sum of £2250 was raised at the Marie Curie Curling Day at the North West Castle on 2nd March . A fun day was had by all with 18 rinks competing, many of whom had travelled a distance, and all getting into the spirit of the occasion by wearing something yellow. The winning rink was skipped by Vicki Wright and runners up were Beryl Niven’s rink.