Runners up - Matt Pellet (Sponsor) Philip Wilson, Hew Chalmers (Pressident), Murray McWilliam
Runners up - Matt Pellet (Sponsor) Philip Wilson, Hew Chalmers (Pressident), Murray McWilliam

Galloway Province Curling League

The first round of the Galloway Province Curling League for 2011/2012 took place at Stranraer Ice Rink last week.

Pairs winners - Matt Pellet (Sponsor), David Gladstone, Neil Fyfe, Hew Chalmers (President)

Pairs winners - Matt Pellet (Sponsor), David Gladstone, Neil Fyfe, Hew Chalmers (President)

Wigtown CC, last year’s champions, took on Penninghame CC, winning both games, and Kirkmabreck CC, last year’s runners up recorded two victories over Minnigaff CC.

RESULTS Jim Cannon, Wigtown 16 Drew Paton, Penninghame 1; John Cannon, Wigtown 10 Michael Dunlop, Penninghame 6.

Eric Johnstone, Kirkmabreck 13 Dave McArthur, Minnigaff 6; John Wilson, Kirkmabreck 13 A McClymont, Minnigaff 3.

McIlwrick Pairs

The final of the McIlwrick Pairs competition sponsored by Civvy Logos ( was held at the North West Castle Hotel’s Stranraer Curling Rink last Thursday.

The winners of this game enter the Scottish Pairs finals to be held at Stranraer in March 2012. The two pairs competing on this occasion were last year’s holders, Neil Fyfe and Davie Gladstone against the 2009 winners, Philip Wilson and Murray McWilliam. These two teams had won through the knock out stages from an initial entry of sixteen. Philip and Murray had had a hard fight against the juniors, Bobby Lammie and Euan Kyle in the semi final; Davie Gladstone with James Erskine substituting for an absent Neil Fyfe in the other semi had overcome John Agnew and Ross Paterson in a close game.

As it happened the final was something of an anticlimax. In the very first end the Wilson team missed a couple of close shots and with their last stone not doing the damage needed, the Fyfe rink pulled off a four shot win. At this level the writing was on the wall and no matter how hard Philip and Murray, tried they could not come back from such a big early lead, as their opposition kept the house clear of stones to prevent any hope of a build up leaving any dramatic scoring opportunities. By the final end the score was six shots to one to Neil and Davie.

At the presentation, Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club President, Hew Chalmers, congratulated the winners and mentioned the fierce competition that had preceded the final in the earlier rounds as well as remarking the continued interest in the event. Hew introduced Matt Pellett of competition sponsor Civvy Logos who said how pleased he was to sponor the competition and explained how he had been moving in to production of embossed polo shirts, fleeces and tee-shirts for the curling community. Matt then handed over the McIlwrick Cup to Neil Fyfe and Davie Gladstone along with prizes of fleeces and embossed polo shirts to the winners and embossed polo shirts to the runners up. Both Neil Fyfe and Philip Wilson then spoke thanking one another for the sporting contest and Matt Pellett of Civvy Logos for the valued sponsoship. Hew Chalmers then brought proceedings to a conclusion.

Winners: Davie Gladstone and Neil Fyfe.

Runners up: Philip Wilson and Murray McWilliam.

FOUR curlers who forged their curling skills at Stranraer Ice Rink will be heading for the European Curling Championships in Moscow next week.

Sisters Vicki and Kay Adams will represent Scotland in the A League while in the B League Neil Fyfe and Louise Kerr will be playing for Ireland.

Twenty-two-year-old Vicki plays second stones in Eve Murihead’s team and 24-year-old Kay will be the teams alternate player. This is the first time they have been to a European championships.

Neil, aged 49, has played in every European event since 2006 while 52-year-old Louise is making her fifth appearance for the Irish team since the country gained acceptance into the World Curling Federation in 2004.

The competition begins on Saturday, December 3. The Scots girls, who are one of the favourites for the title, will play Norway and Denmark on the first day.

The Irish men take on the Netherlands on Saturday morning and the Irish women play Finland and Estonia.