John Agnew Quaich winners L-R Chick Jolly, Ian Agnew (Presenting) Linda Shaw, Hew Chalmers (President), Wullie Yuille. ( Moira Yuille absent)
John Agnew Quaich winners L-R Chick Jolly, Ian Agnew (Presenting) Linda Shaw, Hew Chalmers (President), Wullie Yuille. ( Moira Yuille absent)

The Mochrum Cup 2011, sponsored by Alex McCleary, Funeral Directors, Newton Stewart, will take place at Stranraer Ice Rink on Tuesday, November 29 and Wednesday, November 30.


Tuesday, November 29, 12.20pm - L Kerr, Glasserton v D McArthur, Minnigaff; R Inger, Wigtown v K Fisher, Kirkmabreck; D Paton, Penninghame v R Cannon, Kirkcowan; R Adams, Wigtown v J McNeillie, Glasserton.

Semi-finals - Wednesday, November 30, 2.40pm.

Final - Wednesday, November 30, 6.00pm.

All games ten ends of time. A draw to the button decides a peeled game, except in the final when an extra end will be played.

Entry money is £4 per rink payable with the ice money.

LAST Monday saw the play off of the John Agnew Trophy on the Curling Rink of the North West Castle Hotel, Stranraer. Eight teams participated at the mid-day session, with six more teams playing the evening session of this one game, highest up score of the day competition which was sponsored once again by RC Farquhar of the Copper Wheel, Portpatrick.

In the early session, one rink, that of Linda Shaw, amassed a nine shot lead over their opponents to lead the contenders. Current holder, Willy Sloan had a five shot up win, which was matched by the rink of Bill Scott. On the fourth ice sheet Trevor Harrison peeled with Peter Lupton at nine shots each.

The evening session saw a slow start with no team getting away to an early lead. Hugh Aitken eventually got the better of Richard Stevenson but by only two shots; and two shots was also the difference of Kate Adams’ rink over that of Ian Agnew. The third game between Ian Kirkpatrick and Danny Hair proved of major interest as Ian scored a big four shot win on an end halfway through and built on this to reach the last end needing a three shot win to overtake Linda Shaw’s score from earlier. But success was not to be as a determined Hair rink pegged the Kirkpatrick team back to take the last end and leave the Kirkpatrick rink to finish on five shots up and leave Linda Shaw’s rink as confirmed winners. The runners up position was tied on shots by three teams, those of Ian Kirkpatrick and Willy Sloan and Bill Scott from the early session all scoring five shot wins. The tie was decided on ends scored and here Bill Scott was declared the runner up as his team had scored a six end win over the five ends scored by each of the other two teams.

At the presentation, Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club President, Hew Chalmers, congratulated the winning teams and introduced Ian Agnew who presented the John Agnew Quaich to winning rink skip, Linda Shaw, along with prizes of engraved paper weights to the winners and engraved medals to the runners up. Linda Shaw thanked her team for their excellent play and R. C. Farquhar of the Copper Wheel, Portpatrick for once again generously sponsoring the competition. Closing the event, former Stranraer Ice Rink Curling Club President, Hugh Templeton, raised a vote of thanks to current President, Hew Chalmers, for hosting the presentation.

Winners: Linda Shaw (skip); Willie Yuille (third); Moira Yuille (second); Chick Jolly (lead).

Runners up: Bill Scott (skip); Celia Coyle (third); Babs McIntyre (second); Billy Benson (lead).

Stranraer curler Jay McWilliam and his rink of Colin Dick, Grant Hardie and Billy Morton who won the inaugural Stirling Invitational at The Peak at Stirling last weekend. In a game that went to the last stone, Jay’s team pipped a rink of former world champions in Ewan MacDonald, Graeme Connal, Pete Loudon and Euan Byers in the final.

Fifteen-year-old junior curler Jenni Cannon from Wigtown was competing in the 30th anniversary of the Highland Junior Curling International at Inverness at the weekend. Jenni was playing in the rink skipped by Katie Murray and made it through to the quarter-finals, but although they forced an extra end they lost out in a draw shot challenge decider.