Clean Sweep For Saints At South Awards

St Cuthbert Wanderers saw their players take all three positions in the Player of the Season vote for the South of Scotland League Awards on Friday night at the Crichton Golf Course in Dumfries.

Thursday, 26th May 2016, 6:55 am
St Cuthbert Wanderers

Defender Hugh Cameron beat out his team mates Andrew Donely (2nd) and Sam Warren (3rd) to take the award.

Creetown had a successful night at the awards with manager Alistair Herries coming second in the Manager of the Year vote behind Rab Cameron of St Cuthbert Wanderers. The Ferry also saw their captain Andrew Houston and midfielder Ben Herries named in the Team of the Year as the club’s chairman, Eric Houston, received the Long Service Award for his 50 years of involvement in the League as a player and committee member.

Houston, after being asked for a speech by League secretary Richard Osbourne, went on to explain how proud he was to receive the award before calling the league “a family I’m proud to be a part of”.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Wigtown midfielder Blair Dougan was also named in a Team of the Season that saw 7 of the league’s 14 teams represented.

Dumfries’s Lloyd Wilson was named Referee of the Season beating out last year’s winner Scott Jamieson (2nd) and the retiring Jim Thompson, who came third.

Results In Full:

Player of the Season:

1. Hugh Cameron

2. Andrew Donely

3. Sam Warren (all St Cuthbert Wanderers)

Manager of the Season:

1. Rab Cameron (St Cuthbert Wanderers)

2. Alistair Houston (Creetown)

3. Stewart Murray/Dougie White (Mid Annandale)

Referee of the Season:

1. Lloyd Wilson

2. Scott Jamieson

3. Jim Thompson

Team of the Season:

GK) Taylor Hall (Crichton)

DF) Raffi Krissian (Edusport Academy)

DF) Sam Warren (St Cuthbert Wanderers)

DF) Hugh Cameron (St Cuthbert Wanderers)

DF) Andrew Houston (Creetown)

MF) Ben Herries (Creetown)

MF) Blair Dougan (Wigtown & Bladnoch)

MF) Kieran Krause (Lochar Thistle)

MF) Nathan Muir (Mid Annandale)

FW) Andrew Donely (St Cuthbert Wanderers)

FW) Bandiougou Toure (Edusport Academy)

Long Service Award:

Eric Houston (Creetown)