Charities net benefits from anglers

editorial image

NEWTON Stewart and District Angling Association held its annual general meeting recently in the golf club following a change of venue from the Belted Galloway owing to flood damage.

Before any business was discussed, the presentation of two cheques took place. These were the proceeds of the club’s Open Charity competition which was held at Ochiltree in August. A cheque for £725 was presented to the Riverside Day Centre and a cheque for £500 was presented to Derek Murphy who was representing Help for Heroes.

A disappointing turnout of just 41 members attended to hear various business matters being discussed. Following all business the election of office-bearers saw the following being placed in post: president, J Galloway; vice-president, A Johnstone; secretary, Miss E Sykes; treasurer, N McIntosh; minute secretary, J Hayes; membership secretary, S Smith. All the committee members who were presently serving were re-elected with the following being proposed to fill positions: M McKie, J Costley and D McCleary.

The following trophy winners were then presented with their spoils – Adults: Wilson Cup, R Wilson; Robert McDowall Cup, A Johnstone; McCarlie Cup, A Johnstone; Stroyan Cup, W McHarg; Albert Emerson Memorial, A Johnstone; Drew Johnstone Memorial, D McHarg; Wyllie Cup, R Archer; Galloway Guns & Tackle Trophy, W McHarg; Creebridge House Hotel Cup, R Archer

Juniors: Nelson Trophy, M Dorans; Bertie Marr Memorial, R Hewitson; McHarg Trophy, R Hewitson.

Bob Park Memorial for heaviest fish caught during fly fishing competitions – A Johnstone. The Galloway Cup for the junior catching the heaviest fish during competitions – R Hewitson

Club champions – senior: A Johnstone; junior: R Hewitson.