Castle Kennedy retain Kinnear

The Kinnear Trophy, sponsored by Kinnear for Carpets, Port William, was won by the Castle Kennedy Curling Club team skipped by Gail Munro at Stranraer Ice Rink last Friday.

Wednesday, 25th February 2015, 12:36 pm
Kinnear winners from Castle Kennedy Curling Club Gail Munro, Mona Cannon (presenting), John Munro, Babs McIntyre and Hugh Nibloe.

This was back to back wins in the Kinnear for the Castle Kennedy club in this annual inter-province competition between the Galloway Province and the Rhins O’ Gallowa’ Province between mixed rinks, men and women playing alternately, competed for over two session at Stranraer Ice Rink.

After the first session the Rhins side had scored 44 shots to the Galloway Province’s 26 a lead of 18 shots. By the end of the second session, the Galloway Province curlers had only made gained six shots on their opposition with the final score 64 shots to the Rhins and 51 shots to the Galloway Province.

At the presentations, Galloway Province President Jim Cannon thanked all the rinks for taking part and congratulated the winners. He then asked Mrs Mona Cannon to come up and present the trophy and hampers on behalf of the sponsor and hampers to the highest up rink on the Galloway Province side, Elsie McKillop’s Glasserton rink.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise


2.40pm - Debbie Johnstone, Wigtown 8 Susan Prentice, Leswalt 7; Elsie McKillop, Glasserton 13 Beryl Niven, Loch Connel 6; Pam Woods, Penninghame 2 Gail Munro, Castle Kennedy 20; Joyce Maitland, Minnigaff 3 Linda Shaw, Logan 11.

5.00pm - Louise Kerr, Glasserton 8 Maureen Parker, Castle Kennedy 3; Christine Cannon SCR Jocelyn Bell, Limekiln WO (6 shots awarded); Alison Cloy, Kirkmabreck 10 Kate Adams, Portpatrick 5; Elizabeth Ferguson, Penninghame 7 Jane Murray, Stoneykirk 6.

Galloway Province 51 Rhins O’ Gallowa’ 64.

Highest-up in the winning province - Gail Munro, John Munro, Babs McIntyre, Hugh Nibloe (Castle Kennedy CC).

Highest-up in losing province - Graeme Penrose, Elsie McKillop, Robert Smith, Helen Smith (Glasserton CC).