Bowls Scotland announce New Zealand 2016 team

Bowls Scotland have named the 10 players who will compete for Team Scotland at this year’s World Bowls Championships in New Zealand.

The squad that will carry Scotland’s hopes of qualifying for the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games was officially announced this week.

With memories of the 2014 Glasgow Games and the hopes for the forthcoming Gold Coast games in the minds of players, the Squad will head to Christchurch, New Zealand in November to contest the championships between the 27th November- 12th December.

Joined by returning Head Coach David Gourlay and a group of highly experienced support staff the World Championships will be the pinnacle event of the year for those selected. With all eyes on the Southern Hemisphere this winter, succeeding in these championships is a must to qualify Scotland in each discipline for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Commenting on the team selection, High Performance Manager Rhona Howie said: “Bowls Scotland are delighted to announce a strong field of players to compete at World Bowls. This is a fantastic opportunity for the players to challenge for the medal podium and compete on the World Stage against some very strong opposition. There will be some challenging conditions in Christchurch for the players but we are convinced that the players who have been selected will manage these challenges in a professional manner and compete to the best of their ability for their country”

Commenting on selection Iain McLean said; “I am ecstatic to be selected. I get no bigger buzz from the game than representing my country and to now have the chance to do it at the highest level alongside some of the greatest players in the world makes me feel immensely proud.”

The selected athletes are: Singles Ladies, Lesley Doig; Single Men, Darren Burnett; Pairs Ladies, Lesley Doig, Lauren Baillie; Pairs Men, Paul Foster MBE, Alex Marshall MBE; Triples Ladies, Julie Forrest, Stacey McDougall, Claire Johnston; Triples Men, Ronnie Duncan, Iain McLean, Darren Burnett; Fours Ladies, Julie Forrest, Stacey McDougall, Lauren Baillie, Claire Johnston; Fours Men, Ronnie Duncan, Iain McLean, Paul Foster MBE, Alex Marshall MBE. Team Captain will be Alex Marshall MBE

World Championships will take place between 27th November – 12th December.