SwesTrans chair resigns

The chairman of the South West of Scotland Transport Partnership resigned on Tuesday.

Brian Collins succeeded Ivor Hyslop as Chairman in June 2007 and since then has steered it through its formative years. His period as chairman has seen the development and publication of the first Regional Transport Strategy for Dumfries and Galloway, as well the implementation of the GoSmart Dumfries project, in partnership with Dumfries and Galloway Council and NHS Dumfries and Galloway. Mr Collins has also been the RTP’s representative on a number of outside bodies, in particular he has held the role of Vice Chairman (Scotland) of the West Coast Rail 250 group, which represents local authorities along the length of the West Coast Main Line, and which campaigns for the development of the line for the benefit of communities on the line. Mr Collins’ successor will be elected by the SWestrans Board at its next meeting on 11 July 2014, and in the meantime David Bryson, who is the NHS representative on the Board and current Vice Chairman, will undertake the Chairman’s duties.