Scottish Rural Parliament appoints new directors

Scottish Rural Parliament elections have closed this year with the appointment of two new directors, Amanda Burgauer and Niall Smith. Maggie Gordon and Angus Hardie were also elected to continue on in their role as directors.

In Amanda’s candidate statement issued before the election took place, Amanda stated that she is passionate about rural affairs, and in particular, creating sustainable rural communities. This is reflected by Amanda’s engagement within her local community of Biggar, South Lanarkshire.

Niall’s candidate statement reflected on his active engagement in his local community for many years based in Caithness as well as his commitment to the development of the Rural Parliament.

Chair John Hutchison said “We welcome these two new people onto the board directors for Scottish Rural Action following our first election and Annual General Meeting. We have a great deal of work to do over the forthcoming year as we take forward the recommendations made at the first national meeting last November and we are both excited and pleased to be doing so with a competent and committed team of people.”

Angus Hardie is one of the original six members and directors of Scottish Rural Action and Maggie Gordon was co-opted onto the board last year.

Angus Hardie started his working life in and around the peripheral housing schemes of Edinburgh during the 1980’s, helping to set up a wide range of community-based projects, and later went on to set-up Development Trust Association Scotland and the Scottish Community Alliance.

Maggie runs a small traditional farm with her husband in Dumfries & Galloway which is amongst some of the largest commodity producers in the United Kingdom. She is also actively involved within her local community and in her regional LEADER programme.

All four elected directors will work alongside continuing directors John Hutchison, Sandy Brunton and Vanessa Halhead. The three retiring directors, Norman MacAskill, Naomi Bremner and Scott Simpson MSYP, were all thanked for their commitment in seeing Scottish Rural Action through to the successful delivery of a first Rural Parliament for Scotland and the first election of directors. Jon Hollingdale retired from the board earlier this year in January and was also thanked for his support and expertise.