Queen’s Baton carriers announced

Dumfries and Galloway Council have announced the full list of local people who will have the honour of carrying the Queen’s baton when it arrive in the region on Thursday, June 19.

Thoses chosen are:

In Kirkcudbright - Mark Buchanan; Andrew (Andy) Reed; Ann Hill; John Bennett; Emma Miller; Godfrey Dupuy; Margaret (Anne) Robertson; Michael Pattie; Anne Armstrong; Clodagh Beattie; Kathleen McIlwraith; John Boyd; Thomas Wright; William (Billy) Green; Alexander (Alec) Barclay.

In Newton Stewart - Ruth McCutcheon; Stacey Duff; Jason Adair; Paul Gorman; William Irving; Claire Hinton; Connal McDonald; Kim Harkness; Anthony Forsyth; Christine McClymont.

In Stranraer - Laura McClymont; Edward (Ted) Norfolk; Samuel Doak; Matthew Maclean; Glenda Dewar; Ivie (Donald) Fisher; David Robb; Clare Trussler; Kenneth (Kenny) Barr; Stewart Anderson; William (Wullie) Martin; Tyler Jolly; Katy Brown; Rory Armour; Kevin Somerville; Lisa Martin; Bobby McKie; Harry Waugh; Anthony Taylor; Pamela Muirhead; Eric McCune; John Kiltie; David Hislop; Mary Gavin; Susan Marshall; Ashley Tait; Nicholas Burns; Andrew Kerr.

Council Leader Ronnie Nicholson said of the Batonbearer list being announced; “Our batonbearers have been selected for their contributions to local sport, their school and in their community. They have also been chosen for their achievements against the odds, their mentoring of young people, and those who make a difference through volunteering in our region. This is a flagship day for our region and all 118 batonbearers in Dumfries and Galloway fully deserve their part in the relay and the recognition for their efforts. We hope the public will come out and support the local champions of our region when their time comes to run with the Queen’s Baton.”