Finlay Carson increases majority as he is reelected in Galloway and West Dumfries

Finlay Carson has been reelected as the MSP for Galloway and West Dumfries as the Conservatives held the seat with an increased majority.

By The Newsroom
Monday, 10th May 2021, 3:28 pm
Finlay Carson celebrates his election victory
Finlay Carson celebrates his election victory

Mr Carson received 17,486 votes, a majority of 2,635 over the SNP’s Emma Harper who received 14,851 votes.

Having won with majority of 1,514 five years ago Mr Carson saw his vote increase 3.5 per cent while the SNP on went up by just 0.9 per cent.

In third place was Archie Dryburgh of Labour with 2,932 votes, while Laura Moodie of the Green edged out Iain McDonald of the Lid Dems to take fourth as they get 970 and 948 votes respectively.

The turnout was 65 per cent, up from 59.4 in 2016.

Mr Carson said: “I am absolutely delighted and honoured to have been reelected as MSP for Galloway and West Dumfries, the place that has always been my home.

“I want to give my heartfelt thanks to everyone who has helped me in the campaign; from leaflet delivering, telephone canvassing, and hosting my field signs. Every bit of help, no matter how small, helped me to increase my majority to over 2600 votes.

“I would also like to thank everyone who put their trust in me, and voted for me to represent them for a further five years in the Scottish Parliament.

“I will ensure that my team and I continue to work tirelessly to support, assist and represent everyone in the constituency, whether I got your vote or not.”

Ms Harper will be returning to Parliament on the South Scotland list, and was pleased by the overall result as the SNP took 64 of the 129 seats.

She said: “I am thrilled to be returned to the Scottish Parliament to represent the people of South Scotland and proud to see such a massive win for the SNP.

“My heartfelt thanks to all our SNP activists and members who helped my campaign in incredibly difficult and challenging circumstances.”

The other six South Scotland list seats were split evenly between Labour and the Conservatives.

For Labour Colin Smyth returns to Holyrood joined by former MP Martin Whitfield and newcomer Carol Mochan, while for the Conservatives Brian Whittle is also going back to Parliament with two fresh faces, Craig Hoy and Sharon Dowey.