Galloway Pageant off to dry start

THIS year’s Galloway Pageant managed to get off to a great start last Sunday in the grounds of the Creebridge House Hotel.

Although the weather was a bit overcast, the rain stayed away long enough for the large crowd to enjoy the afternoon.

Wednesday 25th July'Pageant pet show'' 1st in the rabbits was Strip with Keevah-Lee Forsyth & Gareth Gibson

Wednesday 25th July'Pageant pet show'' 1st in the rabbits was Strip with Keevah-Lee Forsyth & Gareth Gibson

Queen Elect Megan Steele was sashed by long-time Pageant stalwart Bob Boan and the afternoon’s entertainment began.

Bouncy castles, a burger stall, bungee and rodeo rides were the order of the day, accompanied by music from Kippy and Co and fun for the children with Douglas the Clown.

There were also several competitions throughout the afternoon with the following results.
Lucky squares: 1. Billy Oliver, 2. W McClelland, 3. J McCartney, 4. Bernie Leneghan.
Family treasure hunt: 1.= Tracy Chambers and Cluckie Crew, 2.= The Andersons and The McVeans.
Custard cream eating competition (six on a plate): Under-8s – 1. Aaron Keenan, Over-9s – 1. Lee Heron. Cream cracker eating competition (six on a plate): Secondary School – 1. Ryan Dawson.

The annual karaoke competition took place in the Central Bar in the evening with results as follows.
Mark Milligan Memorial Karaoke – there were 10 entrants with the final five being Steven Sykes, Jodie and Terri, Val Whannel, Jacqueline Burnett (last year’s winner) and Lorraine Lochhart and they picked one of the two songs that they had already sung to reach the finals. Results: 1. Steven Sykes (£15 plus trophies). His two songs were “Amazed” and “Alice”, the winning song being Alice; 2. Jacqueline Burnett (£7.50) plus trophy; 3. Lorraine Lochhart (from Stranraer) (£5 plus medal). A special award was made to John Kirkpatrick.
The baby show took place in the McMillan Hall on Monday afternoon when 33 babies were entered and the following were the prize-winners.
0-6 months: 1. Connor McAllistair, 2. Ronnie Ross, 3. Aleesha McIllwraith. 6-12 months: 1. Mark Milligan, 2. Isla Marshall, 3. Kadie McWhirter. 12-24 months: 1. Aviah McClymont,
2. Joseph Underwood, 3. Demi Sloss. 24-36 months: 1. Kyle Copeland, 2. Leah McWhirter, 3. Ellie McEwan. Best girl, Aviah McClymont; best boy Connor McAllistair; overall baby Connor McAllistair.

Blairmount Park was the venue for the Saints and Sinners football match in the evening with the police side, captained by local Constable Alan White, narrowly beating a team of local boys 8-7 and were awarded the Café Cree Shield, which will now be played for annually. Man of the match for the police was Dean Thomson, who scored five of his side’s goals. Man of the match for the local boys was Andrew Davidson (Midge). The referee was William McKnight, with Ian Thomson and Stephen McDowall assisting on the lines.
The beetle drive in the Cree Inn had 32 entrants, with the furthest travelled person coming from Paisley and the results were as follows. Adult, 1. Joanne Pearson; booby prize, Rebecca Campbell. Kids, 1. Carra McQueen; booby prize, Emma McVean.
The Nuts Poker Night was held in the Star Inn when 50 players took part with Andrew McWhirter taking first place, Liam Muir in second and Chris Betts in third.

The children’s sports were held at Penninghame Primary School on Tuesday afternoon when over 70 children attended for what was a very good event run by Irene Johnstone in her usual very competent manner. All participants received a medal with the first three in each race receiving cash. The boy and girl sports champions will be announced at the crowning ceremony on Saturday when the winners with most points will receive their trophies.
The children’s disco in the McMillan Hall in the evening was another resounding success with had well over 150 youngsters attending. Road Runner and Douglas the Clown were in attendance to entertain and a great night of fun and joy was had by all. The dancing competitions were judged by Road Runner (Ross Bark) and Mrs Annie Miller and the following prizes were awarded. Best girl dancer was Millie McClymont, the best boy dancer was Logan Rodger.
In the darts competition there were eight entrants in the singles with the following result: 1. Kenny McVeigh, 2. Jimmy Rodger.

In the pairs competition there were the same eight players with Wendy Parrot and Jimmy Roger competing against Kenny McVeigh and Kurtis Hurst in the final with Kenny and Kurtis coming out on top.

This year’s Galloway Pageant is being hailed as a great success so far with many competitions and events still to come with the big day on Saturday when the Pageant Procession takes place, led by the Queensberry and Caledonia Pipe Band and decorated vehicles. The crowning ceremony will take place as customary in Dashwood Square, followed by the Pageant Pop-a-Long which this year takes place in Douglas Park where there will be all sorts of events and entertainment taking place.