Club celebrates successful year

Machars YFC new committee after the AGM
Machars YFC new committee after the AGM

Machars Young Farmers’ Club has had a very eventful time to finish off its year under the capable hands of chairman Colin Ferguson.

With the prospects of the club at a high, it is hoped that the enthusiasm and involvement of present and new members will continue for a busy year ahead.

January 27 saw the Dumfries and Galloway stockmanship day being held at Wallets Mart, Castle Douglas. Machars entered three teams: A – beef: Kirsty Wilson, sheep: Robert Templeton, dairy: Colin Ferguson; B – beef: Tom Bell, sheep: Stuart McColm, dairy: Alistair Birse; C – beef: Bobby Landers, sheep: Hannah Burns, dairy: John Howatson. Team A came second on the day with C following closely in third. Robert Templeton achieved second overall on the individual stock-judging results.

February 2 saw the West Senior speechmaking at Tweddie Hall, Linwood. The Machars team was chairman Leona Wallace and panel members John Howatson, Caera Morton and Colin Ferguson. The team proved their worth by securing second place overall with only one point separating them and first place Crossroads YFC. Leona was also awarded best chairman outwith the winning team. This took the team onto the national finals in Orkney on February 24.

February 15 was the Wigtownshire concert in Lochans Hall. A dance followed at Green Valley Golf Academy. The Machars contribution to the cast was from Bobby and Katie Landers, Tom Bell, Ilise Spice, Colin Ferguson and Libby Templeton, along with solo acts from Simon McCornick playing the cornet and Willem McKie singing with guitar.

February 16: Stewartry held their dinner dance at Arden House, Kirkcudbright, with guest speaker Bobby Landers from Machars YFC.

February 2d: National competitions weekend in Orkney. Machars sent two cars of members to compete at the indoor bowls, member of the year and senior speechmaking.

February 23: Member of the year and carpet bowls competitions. Hannah Burns, joint member of Stewartry and Machars, took part in the member of the year. Machars entered two carpet bowls teams, consisting of A. Libby Templeton, Ross Mair and John Howatson, and B. Leona Wallace, Colin Ferguson and Caera Morton. Neither team made it beyond the qualifying rounds.

February 24: Senior speechmaking final with Machars team being made up of chairman Leona Wallace and panel members Caera Morton, John Howatson and Colin Ferguson. The team came a credible fifth on the day, with Leona gaining joint best chairman outwith, alongside Heather Shanks of Kilmaurs YFC. Stewartry were placed a very respectable second with Michael Yates gaining best speaker outwith. A huge thanks and well done goes to the club coach, Richard Oxley, for all his hard work and patience which helped the team get to where it has in juniors and seniors.

March also proved to be a busy start with the club appointing new office bearers. It was kicked off with Stranraer and Rhins YFC hosting their dinner dance on March 2 at Green Valley, Castle Kennedy.

March 9: Machars YFC then held its own dinner dance in the County Buildings, Wigtown. A large attendance was present for the evening’s entertainment, provided from guest speaker John McShane, trophy presentations by Lynne McShane and the remainder of the evening was danced away to a great variety of music from Pete Kirk.

Trophies were awarded as follows: SAI Cup, Bobby Landers; Cannon Rosebowl, Katie Landers; Craiglemine Cup, Simon McCornick and Katie Landers; Under 18 Stockjudging Shield, Emily Nash; Evans Cup, Graeme Penrose; Club Salver, Kirsty Wilson; and Michael Dunlop Trophy, Robert Templeton.

Wigtownshire trophies presented as follows: James Craig Beef cattle dressing, Bobby Landers and Robert Templeton; NFU Cup for beef stockjudging, Bobby Landers; M C Dunlop Junior Speechmaking, Katie Landers, Caera Morton and Eilidh Parker; SAI Senior Speechmaking, Leona Wallace, John Howatson, Colin Ferguson and Caera Morton. Other trophies on display were those that had been won from throughout the year for the club.

March 10: The club held its AGM at Bladnoch Park pavilion. Many thanks goes to Wigtown Show Society for the use of this venue. The new office bearers are: chairman, Tom Bell; vice-chairman, Bobby Landers; secretary, Robert Templeton; assistant secretary, Kirsty Wilson; treasurer, Willa Wilson; assistant treasurer, Simon McCornick; club leaders, Colin Ferguson and Libby Templeton; committee, Lynn Wilson, Mark McCornick, Caera Morton, Dean Penrose, Katie Landers and Eilidh Parker. Outgoing chairman and secretary Colin Ferguson and Libby Templeton would like to thank the committee of 2012/13 for an enjoyable and very successful year and hope all the best to the new committee of 2013/14.

For all club information, contact Tom on 07769896369 or Robert on 07826852114 and please feel free to attend any club event. Young farmers: not just fot those who wear wellies!