Stranraer Show’s new chairman

Stranraer and Rhins of Galloway Agricultural Society held their AGM on Tuesday, December 8 in the Rugby Club, Stranraer.

There was a good turn out to hear retiring Stranraer Show Chairman, William Barrowman, give his final report of his Chairmanship. He said this year’s show had a great livestock entry, with many exceptional exhibits on display and numerous national champions competing in their midst.

The dairy section was extremely strong but climaxed with the dairy young handlers, where almost 30 talented youngsters battled it out for the top spots, with the newly introduced older section particularly well supported.

To entertain the crowds in the main ring, the Broke FMX motorbike display team amazing everyone.

Mr Barrowman added: “A huge thanks must go to all livestock exhibitors who put in so much hard work and support the show year on year.

“I have enjoyed my time in office mainly due to the tireless working committee and the guidance of the experienced directors. Also to the sponsors, exhibitors, stewards and each and every one of you who make the show the success that it is. My sincere thanks go to you all.

“Finally a few special thank yous must go to my Vice Chairman Alan for his unfailing support, Karen for keeping the books adding up but mostly a great big thanks to Kathryn my Secretary for all her hard work and effort – I couldn’t of done it without her. If I have one piece of advice to hand on to the new team it’s when you have a great secretary look after her – she’s worth her weight in gold.”

Treasurer Karen Bonaccorsi then presented the accounts for the year and was pleased to report a small surplus for the year. Gate taking were up on 2014 and everyone agreed this was a very pleasing outcome.

Nominations for office bearers and committee members were then taken with Alan Ramsay being appointed as the new Chairman and Alistair Kirkwood appointed as the new Vice Chairman. Kathryn Jamieson and Karen Bonaccorsi agreed to continue in their roles as Secretary and Treasurer respectfully. Alistair Kirkwood was appointed as a Director and Lord Stair, John Barrowman, Ian Beck, Hugh Kirkpatrick, Martyn Hastings, Charles Service, William Barrowman and Alan Ramsay were all reappointed as Directors. John Barrowman was unanimously appointed as an Honorary Vice President of the Society.

Committee members having served their term in office this year were Martin McDowall and John Fleming with both agreeing to serve another term in office. New committee members appointed were Allan Clark, Grant Hurcombe, Stuart Fitzsimons and Kayleigh McKie.

Before the adjournment of the meeting thoughts turned to the 2016 Show with nominations for judges being taken.

Homecrafts schedules are now available for the 2016 show and can be obtained by contacting Secretary Kathryn Jamieson on 01776 870242 or 07515 902664.