Council holds first design awards

Dumfries and Galloway Council is using the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design to launch its first Design Awards for the best designed buildings in the region.

The awards aim to recognise, promote and celebrate examples of exceptional design quality within both the urban and rural parts of the region.

An independent panel of judges has met and considered the entries and as a result the Council will present an Award and Commendation in each of the three categories(the results are attached)


New Build Residential Award: Lane’s End, Thornhill – John Murray Architect for Ms F Blackwood constructed by 3b Construction Ltd; Commendation: Westbrook, Moffat – Simon Winstanley Architects for Mr & Mrs A Graham constructed by 3b Construction Ltd

New Build Non-Residential Award: Kirroughtree Visitor Centre, Newton Stewart – jmarchitects for Forestry Commission Scotland constructed by Robertstons

Commendation: Brockloch Treehouse, Kirkpatrick Durham – Echo Living (designed and constructed) for J Nicholson

Works to Existing Buildings Award: Killylour, Shawhead – Simon Winstanley Architects for Ms Chalmers and Mr McBride constructed by Andrew Campbell & Sons

Commendation: Float Bay Cottage – ARPL Architects for Mr A Brown constructed by 3b Construction Ltd