Academy’s winning speakers

editorial image

The 2015/16 Youth Speaks Competition sponsored by the Rotary Club of Kirkcudbright took place recently within Kirkcudbright Academy.

Twelve pupils from the school participated with those from the S1 to S3 year group competing for a decorative Quaich whereas the winner of the six pupils drawn from the Senior School was presented with the Jim Scott Memorial Trophy.

On the evening the audience were both entertained and informed by the wide range of topics chosen by the participants which included talks on swimming, on immigration to the UK, and on Lad Culture.

The panel of judges, drawn from the Academy (Mrs Graham), the Community (Mrs Elaine McConnell), and the Rotary Club (Dr Michael Moore) skilfully discharged their difficult duty.

Hannah Wilson was recognised by the judges as the most promising runner-up among the speakers. The prizes were awarded by the Rotary Vice-President, Chris Ingram, who commended all of the participants for their efforts. In his closing remarks MC for the event, Gavin Scott, observed that the competition had been a great success and thanked the English Department for supporting and encouraging all of the pupils who had been involved.

Winners; Junior School; 1st Sam Gurling; 2nd Hamish Denerley; 3rd Emily Hinchliff; Senior School 1st Magnus Riley; 2nd Rory Grieve; 3rd Esther Weir.