Galloway farmers to stand in elections

The Galloway farming community is well represented at the forthcoming NFU Scotland elections.

Wednesday, 30th November 2016, 4:48 pm
Updated Tuesday, 6th December 2016, 12:42 pm
Pictured left to right are Vice president Andrew McCornick, President Allan Bowie and vice president Rob Livesey shortly after they were elected in February 2015.

Six candidates have now confirmed they will stand in NFU Scotland’s Presidential elections in February – three for the president post, and three for the two vice President posts.

The election for these key appointments within Scottish agriculture will take place at the Union’s Council meeting at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow on Tuesday 7 February 2017. The Union’s AGM and annual dinner will be staged at the same venue the day before.

Current President Allan Bowie, who farms in Fife and Stirlingshire, will complete his first two-year term at the Union’s forthcoming AGM and has indicated that he will be standing for election for a second two-year term.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Both Vice Presidents Rob Livesey from the Borders, who was first elected to the position in 2013, and Dumfriesshire farmer Andrew McCornick, who was elected to the position in February 2015 for the first time, have confirmed they will stand for President in the up and coming elections.

Three new candidates have come forward, putting their hat into the ring to contend for two Vice President positions.

Dumfries and Galloway Regional Chairman, Gary Mitchell, a past chairman of the Milk Committee, has indicated that he will be standing for Vice President, as has Less Favoured Areas Committee Chairman Martin Kennedy, who farms in Highland Perthshire. South Lanarkshire farmer Tom French, NFU Scotland’s Forth and Clyde Regional Chairman, has also stepped forward to contend for Vice President.

There is still time for others to come forward.

Details on the final candidates will be announced by the Union on Wednesday 14 December.