Galloway celebrates the life of the Bard

Galloway celebrated the life of the Bard this week with Burns Suppers taking place the length and breadth of the region.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 30th January 2014, 11:27 am

On Tuesday, January 21, Kirkcudbright Rotary Club’s annual celebration took place at the Selkirk Arms Hotel, with over 50 Rotarians and guests.

On Friday January 24, Whithorn and District Burns Club chairman Robin Kinnear welcomed members old and new, guests and artistes at the Monreith Arms Hotel, Port William to celebrate the 255th anniversary of the birth of Robert Burns, and remarked on the 77th year of the federation of the Club.

The company noted with sadness the recent passing of William Ronnie from Garlieston who had been a loyal supporter of the Club over many years.

Sign up to our daily The Galloway Gazette Today newsletter

The Selkirk Grace was followed by traditional fare. The haggis was carried by Norman Gerrish and piped in and addressed by Cameron Stewart. In 2014, designated “Year of the Haggis”, the Monreith Arms served their best yet.

The chairman then introduced farmer Derek Roan of Dalbeattie Burns Club who would propose The Immortal Memory. He admitted that as a native of the Stewartry he had been brought up to be “feart tae cross the Cree” but he had no need to worry – his audience was friendly.

Burns’ interest lay not in “makin’ muckle mair” but in people and the natural world and natural justice. Maybe today he would be communicating his thoughts instantly on Facebook and Twitter.

Derek received a standing ovation and was presented with a certificate of honorary membership of the Club. Tam o’ Shanter was performed energetically by Wyllie McCulloch to much admiration and appreciation. Drew Sloan toasted The Lassies, ending appropriately with “For Nature made her what she is and never made anither”.

During the evening numerous musical items were performed by the String Trio, Andy, David and Stewart. Their accompanist Eric Wilson was attending his 55th Whithorn and District Burns Supper – surely a record. Thanks to all who had contributed to the evening were expressed by Robin Murray, with an appreciative reply by Cameron Stewart.

There was a good attendance at Kirkmaiden Church annual Burns Supper on January 24. Douglas Mc lure was chairman and gave a great rendition of Tam O’ Shanter during the evening.

An outstanding Immortal Memory was given by Professor Alastair McGowan OBE. Rev Alec Cairns proposed The Toast to the Lassies and his wife Dorothy replied.

Burns songs were sung by Pauline McIlwraith and Pat Mc Guffie. The haggis was piped in by Colin Modrate and carried aloft by Agnes McClymont. It was addressed with feeling by Ena Drummond.

Four Pupils from Drummore School delighted the company by reciting Scots verse. They were Lauren Pirrie, Zoe Ramsay, Iona Irving and Star Birkhead.

William McClymont proposed the Votes of Thanks and then the evening was rounded off by “Auld Lang Syne!

On Friday January 24, Newton Stewart Burns Club held its fifth annual Burns Supper at the Creebridge House Hotel. Piper Alastair Hairstens led proceedings with Martin Emerson giving the Address to the De’il.

Colin Bennewith gave the Address to a Haggis with Ian Petrie giving a vote of thanks and Jane Brown delivering the Immortal Memory. Dr Ruth Thompson gave a Reply to the Lassies after Ian McIntyre’s Toast to the Lassies.

Bargrennan joined the celebrations on Saturday January 25 as the House o’ Hill Burns Supper gathered.

Barbara Scott gave the Selkirk Grace, Mary Cowan gave The Immortal Memory and Sheena Horner gave a Reply to the Lassies following Dominic Frame’s Toast to the Lassies.

Lex Muir delivered To a Mouse and the Address to the Unco Guid, while Peter Hughes offered the Address to the Haggis.

The P7s at Penninghame Primary planned and prepared their Burns Supper. Every child in the class had a role to play, from making invitations, writing to local businesses asking for donations and writing speeches as well as practising a song for the entertainment.

Invited guests included Mr Muir from the Newton Stewart Burns Club, Mrs Hamilton, Mrs Woodfield and Nichola from Sainsbury’s.

The whole event was a great success and the Head Teacher, Mrs Phillips, would like to express how well the children did in the preparation of the Burns Supper. She said they were a credit to themselves and the event will be a memory that will be remembered by them for a long time. Many thanks to all the staff at Pennighame Primary who helped make the event possible.

Leswalt Primary School joined the fun on Friday by holding its fifth annual Burns Supper.

The whole school sat down together to enjoy this tradition. Abbie McQuillan, P7, was a very able and organised chairperson who ensured the proceedings ran smoothly.

Arden McIntyre said the Selkirk Grace before Mr Andy Ross piped in the haggis. Erin Jamieson, P1, proudly carried the haggis into the company. The haggis was presented to Tommy Kerslake, P7, who confidently addressed it with great gusto. Mr Douglas McClure educated the company about the life of Robert Burns, in saying The Immortal Memory.

In P7, Tommy Kerslake proposed an amusing toast to the lassies before Erin Topping in gave him an appropriate reply. Kieran Dodds provided an articulate and amusing toast which was in the form of a poem.

Rhona Baillie in p6 gave an appreciative vote of thanks. The company sang Auld Lang Syne at the end of a highly successful and entertaining Burns Supper.

Wigtown Primary School held a Scots Afternoon on Monday 27th January. A delicious traditional Burns lunch of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties was provided by our excellent kitchen staff.

This was followed by our recitation class competition, this year judged by Mr Jim McColm from the Wigtown Burns Society.

The school must extend thanks and appreciation to Mr McColm for his continued support.

Pre nursery: (Bowfin’ Puppy) 1st Carly Marshall; 2nd Declan Tait; 3rd = Ciara Ferguson,Isla Aitcheson.

Pre Nursery: (Hairy Feet) 1st Lucas Cluckie; 2nd Daniel Drysdale; 3rd Heather Cairns.

P1:(Humpty Dumpty) 1st Imogen Milligan; 2nd Kyle Harris; 3rd Jennifer Barton.

P2:(Jock & Jean) 1st Aaron Keith; 2nd Katie McMiken; 3rd = Jake Devine, Oliver Gomersall

P3:(Crocodile or Last Nicht) 1st Terry Robinson; 2nd Rory McMiken; 3rd Georgie Barr.

P4; (Mrs Nae Offence) 1st Helena Cochrane; 2nd Erin Thomson; 3rd Finn McMiken.

P5:(Sair Finger) 1st Michael Corcoran; 2nd Kirsty Cannon; 3rd Sophie McSeveney.

P6: (Wee Kirk Moose or A Dug, A Dug) 1st Connie Milligan; 2nd Rory Dunn; 3rd Rachael Quigley.

P7: (Address to a Haggis) 1st Kathryn Robinson; 2nd Aaron Kennedy; 3rd Katie Maxwell.

Garlieston Primary School Burns Art Competition results

P1 1st: Bartosz Lewandowski; 2nd Jayden Saxton; 3rd Brogan Furfey. P2 1st Tyane Saxton; 2nd Ruby McCornick; 3rd Autumn Wilson. P3 1st Nathan Keith; 2nd Bethany Paterson; P4 1st Tom Donkin; 2nd Aston Bradley; 3rd Callum Hedley. P5 1st Wiktoria Lewandowska; 2nd Emma McCornick; 3rd Jamie Russell. P6 1st Jacob Wilson; 2nd Harry Hedley; 3rd Sian Ford; P7 1st Courtney Brett; 2nd Lara Ahmed/Kirsty Fisher; 3rd Harry Laycock.

Garlieston School Poetry competition results

P1 1st Nico Munro. P2 1st Tyane Saxton; 2nd Ruby McCornick; 3rd Autumn Wilson. P3 1st Nathan Keith; 2nd Bethany Paterson. P4 1st Aston Bradley; 2nd Tom Donkin; 3rd Callum Hedley. P5 1st Emma McCornick; 2nd Aidan Turner; 3rd Wiktoria Lewandowska. P6 1st Sian Ford; 2nd Caitlin Maxwell; 3rd Jacob Wilson. P7 1st Kirsty Fisher; 2nd Harry Laycock; 3rd Leigh Vance.